FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Georgia Southern announces steps for FBS move

Statesboro, GA (Sports Network) - The wheels are being readied for motion to take the Georgia Southern University football program to the Football Bowl Subdivision.

The prospect has been long rumored for a program that has won a record six Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA) national titles.

GSU President Brooks Keel told the Statesboro Herald that the university is pursuing an eight-year, $36.6 million campaign over five phases to raise funds for such a move. Included is an increase of 18,000-seat Paulson Stadium by 6,300 seats and the construction of a 57,000-square-foot football operations center.

"There's no question it's where we want to go," Keel said of the potential move to the FBS.

A fundraising campaign has been in place since July 1 and has generated $5.1 million in cash and signed pledges, according to John Mulherin, president of the GSU Athletic Foundation.

Georgia Southern is a member of the Southern Conference. Appalachian State, another power in the SoCon, also is pursuing a move to the FBS.

04/25 05:55:59 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.