Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Quarterbacks shine at Montana scrimmage

Missoula, MT (Sports Network) - The Montana football team's usually strong running game took a backseat to the aerial attack Saturday night.

Four different quarterbacks combined to complete 33 of 46 passes for 390 passing yards, four touchdowns and no interceptions during the Grizzles' second scrimmage of spring drills before 8,731 at Washington-Grizzly Stadium.

No. 1 quarterback Jordan Johnson led the way by going 12-for-12 for 164 yards and three touchdowns. In addition, fellow junior Nate Montana was 6 of 12 for 81 yards and a touchdown, sophomore Shay Smithwick-Hann was 9 of 14 for 86 yards and a touchdown and redshirt freshman Trent McKinney was 6 of 8 for 59 yards in the 92-play scrimmage.

McKinney also gained 36 yards on the ground to pace all rushers.

"I am really happy with the way the offense came out," interim head coach Mick Delaney. "They showed a lot of poise, which they should, because we've got a lot more guys with experience who have played on offense. The trigger guys (quarterbacks) make a huge difference. All-in-all, I thought all of the quarterbacks played well tonight."

Thirteen players caught passes, led by Cam Warren's five for 70 yards.

Montana will play a final scrimmage in Washington-Grizzly Stadium on April 21.

Delaney has replaced Robin Pflugrad, who was fired on March 29 in the wake of the university's recent investigation into numerous alleged sexual assaults on campus, some involving football players.

04/15 05:44:18 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.