Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Lehigh to have co-defensive coordinators

Bethlehem, PA (Sports Network) - Lehigh defensive line coach Donnie Roberts and secondary coach Gerard Wilcher will serve as co-defensive coordinators this season, head coach Andy Coen announced Tuesday.

They are filling the role of six-year defensive coordinator Dave Kotulski, who left to become the inside linebackers coach at Stanford.

Roberts is entering his seventh season as the Mountain Hawks' defensive line coach as part of his second stint on the staff. Wilcher, the defensive coordinator in 2005, is entering his ninth season as coach of the secondary.

"Our staff does a great job putting kids in the right position," Coen said. "We've developed a multiplicity to our defense that I didn't want to lose. Donnie and Gerard, from working with Dave, had a lot of input in getting our scheme to where it is today.

"It was hard to distinguish just one of those guys. I wanted to be able to reward both those guys for doing a great job over the last six years we've been here. They work very well together on a day-to-day basis and I'm sure they will here. That's why I made them co-coordinators."

In another move, former Lehigh outside linebackers coach Matt Sanders has returned to the staff to coach the inside linebackers.

Lehigh, which will begin its spring practice on Friday, is coming off an 11-2 season in which it won a second straight Patriot League title and reached the FCS quarterfinals.

03/20 14:59:12 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.