Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Grambling State sets schedule for title defense

Baton Rouge, LA (Sports Network) - Grambling State football will try to defend its 2011 Southwestern Athletic Conference title during an 11-game schedule which includes a non-conference visit to TCU.

The Tigers won the 2011 SWAC title and finished 8-4 in Doug Williams' first season back as their head coach.

Grambling State will kick off its season, and SWAC schedule, on Sept. 1 against Alcorn State in the Port City Classic in Shreveport, La.

The Tigers will then go to Fort Worth, Texas, on Sept. 8 to take on TCU in a first-ever meeting.

The Tigers will play four home games, starting with a SWAC matchup against Alabama State on Sept. 1. They also will host Virginia-Lynchburg's second-year program in a non-conference matchup on Homecoming Day Oct. 20, as well as SWAC opponents Jackson State (Nov. 3) and Arkansas-Pine Bluff (Nov. 10).

Other SWAC games on the road are against Alabama A&M (Sept. 29), which Grambling State beat in the conference championship game in December; Prairie View A&M (Oct. 6) in the State Fair Classic in Dallas; Mississippi Valley State (Oct. 13); Texas Southern (Oct. 27); and Southern (Nov. 24) in the Bayou Classic in New Orleans.

2012 Grambling State Football Schedule

All Times ET

Sept. 1 - at Alcorn State*, Shreveport, La., 7 p.m.

Sept. 8 - at TCU, Fort Worth, Texas, 7 p.m.

Sept. 15 - vs. Alabama State*, Grambling, La., TBA

Sept. 29 - at Alabama A&M*, Huntsville, Ala., 7 p.m.

Oct. 6 - at Prairie View A&M*, Dallas, 7 p.m.

Oct. 13 - at Mississippi Valley State*, Itta Bena, Miss., 3 p.m.

Oct. 20 - vs. Virginia-Lynchburg (Homecoming), Grambling, La., 7 p.m.

Oct. 27 - at Texas Southern*, Houston, 7 p.m.

Nov. 3 - vs. Jackson State*, Grambling, La., 3 p.m.

Nov. 10 - vs. Arkansas-Pine Bluff*, Grambling, La., 3 p.m.

Nov. 24 - at Southern*, New Orleans, 2 p.m.

* - SWAC game

03/14 10:28:21 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.