Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Coastal Carolina to host five in Moglia's first season

Conway, SC (Sports Network) - Coastal Carolina will open the Joe Moglia era by hosting North Carolina A&T and has four other home games as part of a 2012 football schedule announced on Wednesday.

Moglia was hired in December as the second head coach in Chanticleers history.

Coastal will host North Carolina A&T in its season opener Sept. 1. Also coming to Brooks Stadium are Eastern Kentucky (Sept. 15) and Big South Conference opponents Stony Brook (Oct. 13), Liberty (Oct. 27) and Charleston Southern (Nov. 17).

Coastal's non-conference road games are particularly tough: Furman (Sept. 8), FBS member Toledo and Appalachian State (Sept. 29).

Within the Big South, the Chanticleers will go to VMI (Oct. 20), Gardner-Webb (Nov. 3) and Presbyterian (Nov. 10).

Coastal finished 7-4 last season and will return All-Big South performers in linebacker Andrae Jacobs, wide receiver Matt Hazel, offensive tackle Jamey Cheatwood, defensive end Chris Thomas and punt returner Niccolo Mastromatteo.


Sept. 1, North Carolina A&T, Brooks Stadium, Conway, S.C.

Sept. 8, at Furman, Greenville, S.C.

Sept. 15, Eastern Kentucky, Brooks Stadium, Conway, S.C.

Sept. 22, at Toledo, Toledo, Ohio

Sept. 29, at Appalachian State, Boone, N.C.

Oct. 13, Stony Brook*, Brooks Stadium, Conway, S.C.

Oct. 20, at VMI*, Lexington, Va.

Oct. 27, Liberty* (Homecoming), Brooks Stadium, Conway, S.C.

Nov. 3, at Gardner-Webb*, Boiling Springs, N.C.

Nov. 10, at Presbyterian*, Clinton, S.C.

Nov. 17, Charleston Southern*, Brooks Stadium, Conway, S.C.

* - Big South Conference game

02/08 19:21:35 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.