FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

South Dakota to face Northwestern, play five at home

Vermillion, SD (Sports Network) - The University of South Dakota football team will go to Northwestern and host five opponents as part of its 2012 schedule under first-year head coach Joe Glenn, announced Wednesday.

The Coyotes will be playing their first season in the Missouri Valley Football Conference.

Before beginning conference action, USD will go to Montana, where Glenn was head coach for three seasons and won the 2001 FCS title, for a Sept. 1 opener and visit Big Ten member Northwestern on Sept. 22. In between those games, the Coyotes will host Colgate on Sept. 8 at the DakotaDome

USD's home games in the MVFC will be against Illinois State (Sept. 29), Western Illinois (Oct. 6), 2011 FCS national champion North Dakota State (Oct. 20) and Northern Iowa (Nov. 10).

The Coyotes also will go on the road for MVFC action against Missouri State (Oct. 13), Indiana State (Oct. 27), Youngstown State (Nov. 3) and South Dakota State (Nov. 17).

The series between USD and South Dakota State dates to 1889, but this will be their first meeting since 2003. The Coyotes lead the all-time series, 51-48-7.

2012 South Dakota Football Schedule

Sept. 1, at Montana, Missoula, Mont.

Sept. 8, Colgate, DakotaDome

Sept. 22, at Northwestern, Evanston, Ill.

Sept. 29, Illinois State*, DakotaDome

Oct. 6, Western Illinois*, DakotaDome

Oct. 13, at Missouri State*, Springfield, Mo.

Oct. 20, North Dakota State*, DakotaDome

Oct. 27, at Indiana State*, Terre Haute, Ind.

Nov. 3, at Youngstown State*, Youngstown, Ohio

Nov. 10, Northern Iowa*, DakotaDome

Nov. 17, at South Dakota State*, Brookings, S.D.

* - Missouri Valley Football Conference game

01/18 16:54:10 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.