Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Western Illinois to visit Iowa State, host six in 2012

Macomb, IL (Sports Network) - Western Illinois will play six home games and visit Iowa State as part of a 2012 schedule announced by the Missouri Valley Football Conference school on Wednesday.

Western Illinois' season opener at Hanson Field will be on Thursday night, Aug. 30, in a first-ever meeting with Butler.

Hampton will visit on Sept. 8 and the Fighting Leathernecks' other four home games are within the MVFC against Illinois State (Sept. 22, Homecoming), Indiana State (Oct. 20), Northern Iowa (Nov. 3) and Youngstown State (Nov. 10).

The Fighting Leathernecks will visit Iowa State in Ames on Sept. 15. Their four other road games are within the MVFC against conference newcomer South Dakota (Oct. 6), South Dakota State (Oct. 13), Missouri State (Oct. 27) and Southern Illinois (Nov. 17).

2012 Western Illinois Football Schedule

All Times ET

Aug. 30, Butler, Hanson Field, 7 p.m.

Sept. 8, Hampton, Hanson Field, 2 p.m.

Sept. 15, at Iowa State, Ames, Iowa, TBA

Sept. 22, Illinois State* (Homecoming), Hanson Field, 4 p.m.

Oct. 6, at South Dakota*, Vermillion, S.D., TBA

Oct. 13, at South Dakota State*, Brookings, S.D., TBA

Oct. 20, Indiana State*, Hanson Field, TBA

Oct. 27, at Missouri State*, Springfield, Mo., TBA

Nov. 3, Northern Iowa*, Hanson Field, TBA

Nov. 10, Youngstown State*, Hanson Field, TBA

Nov. 17, at Southern Illinois*, Carbondale, Ill., TBA

* - Missouri Valley Football Conference game

12/21 11:25:51 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.