Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football
FCS Football News

North Dakota State halts Lehigh, Lum

Fargo, ND (Sports Network) - For the first time in school history, North Dakota State is headed to the FCS semifinals.

While stifling Lehigh's high-powered offense, the Bison prevailed, 24-0, in the quarterfinals before 18,111 at the FargoDome on Saturday.

Second-seeded North Dakota State (12-1) will host the No. 3 seed, Georgia Southern (11-2), next weekend for the right to go to the FCS championship game.

One of the FCS' top passing attacks entering the contest, Lehigh and record- breaking quarterback Chris Lum were limited to 355 yards of total offense and was shut out for the first time since Week 2 of the 2010 season.

It was also North Dakota State's first shutout since 2006, and the first since making the transition from Division II.

The Mountain Hawks engineered 12 drives in the game, but could never capitalize, including a late third-quarter red zone trip that was curtailed by an interception in the end zone from North Dakota State's Preston Evans.

Evans' interception also set up the lone scoring drive of the second half, as the Bison drove 80 yards before scoring on a one-yard touchdown plunge from Brock Jensen with 7:23 left in the fourth quarter.

It was the first time anyone had found the end zone since North Dakota State built up a 17-0 lead, all in the second quarter.

After a scoreless first quarter, North Dakota State took a 7-0 lead at 10:34 of the second quarter, on a 38-yard acrobatic touchdown catch by Warren Holloway, capitalizing on a short punt by Lehigh.

On their next possession, the Bison drove 97 yards over the course of 11 plays and 5:33, finally getting a touchdown on a quarterback sneak by Brock Jensen with 2:10 remaining.

North Dakota State added a field goal just before halftime, as Ryan Jastram converted on a 31-yard attempt, after an interception by Christian Dudzik gave the Bison solid field position at Lehigh's 26-yard line.

Lum, the Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year and a finalist for the Walter Payton Award (sponsored by Fathead.com), completed 25-of-52 attempts for 286 yards and two interceptions.

The Mountain Hawks played without All-America junior wide receiver Ryan Spadola, who was serving a one-game suspension from the NCAA.

While Jensen accounted for all three touchdowns, running backs Sam Ojuri (136 yards) and D.J. McNorton (52 yards) helped the Bison control the clock and keep the offense on the field. Holloway had a career-high eight receptions for 96 yards.

12/10 19:44:04 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.