Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Montana cruises past Central Arkansas

Missoula, MT (Sports Network) - Jordan Canada carried the ball 10 times for 58 yards and two touchdowns, as the Montana Grizzlies demolished the Central Arkansas Bears, 41-14, in the second round of the FCS playoffs.

Peter Nguyen carried the ball 16 times for 79 yards and a score for the Grizzlies (10-2), who are making their 21st appearance in the FCS playoffs.

Jordan Johnson completed 16-of-25 passes for 135 yards, two touchdowns and two interceptions for Montana, which will face Northern Iowa next weekend in the quarterfinals.

Nathan Dick connected on 26-of-40 passes for 265 yards, two touchdowns and an interception for the Bears (9-4), who defeated Tennessee Tech in their FCS playoff debut last weekend.

The Grizzlies never looked back after Brody McKnight started the game with a 31-yard field goal.

Central Arkansas fumbled on its second possession of the contest. Jackie Hinton had the ball knocked loose by Josh Harris and Matt Hermanson recovered for Montana. Jabin Sambrano hauled in an eight-yard TD pass to make it 10-0.

Dick was then intercepted by Trumaine Johnson at the Montana nine. The Grizzlies put together a 10-play, 93-yard drive, which Nguyen capped with a two-yard TD run with 1:10 left in the first quarter.

Canada's 11-yard TD run with less than six minutes to play in the half made it 24-0. Sambrano added a 22-yard TD catch before the break to make it a 31-0 game.

Canada's 12-yard rushing TD early in the third quarter made it 38-0. Jesse Grandy got Central Arkansas on the board later in the frame with a 44-yard TD catch.

McKnight's 20-yard field goal early in the fourth gave Montana a 41-7 margin. Al Lasker caught an eight-yard TD pass with two minutes left to account for the final margin.

12/03 21:27:57 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.