Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

No. 19 Baylor thumps Stephen F. Austin in weather-shortened game

Waco, TX (Sports Network) - Robert Griffin III completed 20-of-22 passes for 265 yards and three touchdowns, as the 19th-ranked Baylor Bears dominated the Stephen F. Austin Lumberjacks, 48-0, in a weather-shortened game.

Griffin also carried the ball eight times for 78 yards for the Bears (2-0), who captivated the country two weeks ago in a 50-48 win over defending Rose Bowl champion TCU.

Terrance Ganaway rushed for 80 yards and a score on nine carries. Kendall Wright caught eight passes for 123 yards and a touchdown.

Baylor played a home game as a ranked team for the first time since November of 1991.

"The thing that's tough about these games, when you play a team that's not at the same level that you're at, it's hard to really feel good about how you played and how you performed," Baylor head coach Art Briles said. "And that's something you have to be careful about in this business because at the end of the day, it's just all about having more points than the other guy on the other end."

Brady Attaway connected on 8-of-13 passes for 101 yards and an interception for the Lumberjacks (1-2), who have lost two in a row.

The game was delayed 41 minutes near the end of the first half due to bad weather. The schools decided to skip halftime and to trim the final two quarters by three minutes each.

Lightning occurred in the area after Baylor went up 48-0 with three minutes to play in the third. Both teams agreed to end the game at that point.

The Lumberjacks marched the ball down the field on the opening possession of the game. Faced with a 4th-and-1 from the Baylor 24, Attaway tried to get the first down with his feet. The Bears stuffed him at the line of scrimmage.

Baylor responded with a nine-play drive that Aaron Jones capped with a 48-yard field goal.

Attaway was intercepted by Mike Hicks at the Baylor nine on the following drive. Tevin Reese hauled in a 27-yard pass to put the Bears in the red zone prior to Lanear Sampson hauling in a nine-yard pass to make it 10-0 with less than three minutes to go in the first quarter.

Stephen F. Austin was about to get on the board early in the second, but Gus Johnson fumbled inside the five. Ganaway's 26-yard run sparked an eight-play drive, which Jerod Monk capped with a 10-yard TD catch.

"We turned the ball over on a fumble inside the six-yard line and threw an interception, but you have to give credit to Baylor," Stephen F. Austin head coach J.C. Harper said. "Baylor caused those turnovers and they're a heck of a football team. That's why they're ranked in the top 25, and we've got to give them all the credit. They're a heck of a football team."

It was all Baylor from that point on, as Jarred Salubi scampered into the end zone from six yards out for a 24-0 lead with about eight minutes left.

Wright's 66-yard TD catch with over three minutes remaining made it a 31-0 game at the half.

On the second play of the third quarter, Ganaway ripped off a 41-yard TD run. Glasco Martin added an 18-yard score moments later to make it 45-0.

Jones' 30-yarder with over three minutes left in the third gave the Bears a 48-point lead.

Game Notes

Baylor leads the all-time series, 4-0...The Bears had 545 yards of total offense, compared to 207 for the Lumberjacks...Baylor held an opponent scoreless for the first time since September 23, 1995, when it defeated N.C. State, 14-0. Baylor held an opponent scoreless at home for the first time since October 26, 1985, when the Bears defeated TCU, 45-0.

09/17 23:38:07 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.