Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

South Carolina State takes early lead in MEAC race

Daytona Beach, FL (Sports Network) - Bethune-Cookman fans showed up at Municipal Stadium expecting an offensive explosion.

Instead they witnessed a power outage.

After scoring 63 points last Sunday in the MEAC/SWAC Challenge, Bethune- Cookman was held to just 18, falling to South Carolina State, 26-18, on Saturday.

With MEAC championship implications on the line between the top two teams in the conference, defense was the main attraction, as each team recorded a safety and forced a combined 10 turnovers.

In fact, Bethune-Cookman led by an unconventional 8-5 margin at halftime.

In the third quarter, the teams traded touchdowns and Bethune-Cookman added a fourth-quarter field goal to take an 18-12 lead. It almost stood up, but Derrick Wiley's late touchdown run and Dominique Ellis' interception return for a score gave South Carolina State the victory.

The Bulldogs are now in the driver's seat to win the MEAC, but Bethune-Cookman will still be in the race -- its games against fellow MEAC powers Hampton and Florida A&M are at home or neutral sites.

09/10 20:37:25 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.