Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Holy Cross to face challenging schedule

Worcester, MA (Sports Network) - Holy Cross football will play six home games and seven contests against schools that posted winning records last season as part of a 2011 schedule announced Monday.

"We will face another challenging schedule this season," Crusaders head coach Tom Gilmore said. "We are excited to open the year with three straight home games, even though they will come against three outstanding opponents. The non-conference portion of our schedule will be very tough, as we face three of the top teams in the Ivy League and two perennial powers from the Colonial Athletic Association. We hope that those games will help prepare us for the tough battles we will face in Patriot League play."

Holy Cross will open the season against intra-state rival Massachusetts of CAA Football on Sept. 1, in the first-ever night game at Fitton Field. The opening home stretch continues against Patriot League rival Colgate on Sept. 10 and Ivy League power Harvard on Homecoming Day Sept. 17.

The Crusaders' other home games are against Dartmouth (Oct. 15), Georgetown (Oct. 29) and Lafayette (Nov. 12).

The games against teams with winning records last year are: UMass; Colgate; Harvard; New Hampshire; Brown; Dartmouth; and Lehigh.

Holy Cross will play only five Patriot League games because Fordham, whom the Crusaders face Nov. 19 in New York, is ineligible for the league title for a second straight season.

2011 Holy Cross Football Schedule

Sept. 1, Massachusetts, Worcester, Mass.

Sept. 10, Colgate*, Worcester, Mass.

Sept. 17, Harvard (Homecoming), Worcester, Mass.

Oct. 1, at New Hampshire, Durham, N.H.

Oct. 8, at Brown, Providence, R.I.

Oct. 15, Dartmouth, Worcester, Mass.

Oct. 22, at Bucknell*, Lewisburg, Pa.

Oct. 29, Georgetown*, Worcester, Mass.

Nov. 5, at Lehigh*, Bethlehem, Pa.

Nov. 12, Lafayette*, Worcester, Mass.

Nov. 19, at Fordham, New York

*-Patriot League game

04/11 17:26:43 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.