Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Bucknell to kick off 2011 season at home

Lewisburg, PA (Sports Network) - Bucknell will open the 2011 football season with two home games and then play three more at Christy Mathewson-Memorial Stadium in head coach Joe Susan's second second.

Bucknell, which finished 1-10 in Susan's first season last year, announced Wednesday the Bison will kick off the campaign against Duquesne on Sept. 10 and Marist on Sept. 17.

The Bison also will host three Patriot League opponents: Georgetown (Oct. 1); 2010 league champion Lehigh (Oct. 8); and Holy Cross (Oct. 22).

Bucknell's first three road games are against Ivy League foes Cornell (Sept. 17), Princeton (Sept. 24) and Harvard (Oct. 15). The Bison's final three games also will be on the road against Patriot League opponents Lafayette (Oct. 29), Fordham (Nov. 12) and Colgate (Nov. 19).

Fordham is ineligible for the Patriot title, so the game will not count in the league standings.

2011 Bucknell Football Schedule

All Times ET

Sept. 3, Duquesne, Lewisburg, Pa., 6 p.m.

Sept. 10, Marist, Lewisburg, Pa., 6 p.m.

Sept. 17, at Cornell, Ithaca, N.Y., TBA

Sept. 24, at Princeton, Princeton, N.J., TBA

Oct. 1, Georgetown*, Lewisburg, Pa., 1 p.m.

Oct. 8, Lehigh*, Lewisburg, Pa., 1 p.m.

Oct. 15, at Harvard, Cambridge, Mass., TBA

Oct. 22, Holy Cross*, Lewisburg, Pa., 1 p.m.

Oct. 29, at Lafayette*, Easton, Pa., TBA

Nov. 12, at Fordham, Bronx, N.Y., TBA

Nov. 19, at Colgate*, Hamilton, N.Y., TBA

*-Patriot League game

03/09 10:08:10 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.