Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Ivy champ Penn sets 2011 schedule

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Two-time defending Ivy League champion Penn will open the 2011 season at home for a fifth straight year and then gain an extra game at Franklin Field a week later.

Penn will kick off the season against Lafayette of the Patriot League on Sept. 17. This will be the sixth straight season in which the two teams have met, with the last four matchups decided by a total of 16 points.

The Quakers will then play CAA Football power Villanova on Sept. 24. The meeting is the final year of an eight-year contract and Franklin Field will continue to be used to accommodate a crowd larger than the 12,500 that fits into Villanova Stadium. The Quakers will be the road team for the 2011 meeting.

The Quakers, who won their Ivy-record 12th outright league title last season in finishing 9-1 overall and 7-0 in Ivy play, bring a 15-game conference winning streak in 2011. The Ivy opponents visiting Franklin Field are Yale (Oct. 22), Princeton on Homecoming (Nov. 5) and Cornell (Nov. 19), while the Quakers will travel to Dartmouth (Oct. 1), Columbia (Oct. 15), Brown (Oct. 29) and Harvard (Nov. 12).

In addition, Penn will host Fordham on Oct. 8. It is the Quakers' first game against the Patriot League school in 12 years.

2011 Penn Football Schedule

Saturday, Sept. 17, Lafayette, Franklin Field

Saturday, Sept. 24, at Villanova, at Franklin Field

Saturday, Oct. 1, Dartmouth*, at Hanover, N.H.

Saturday, Oct. 8, Fordham, Franklin Field

Saturday, Oct. 15, Columbia*, at New York

Saturday, Oct. 22, Yale*, Franklin Field

Saturday, Oct. 29, Brown*, at Providence, R.I.

Saturday, Nov. 5, Princeton* (Homecoming), Franklin Field

Saturday, Nov. 12, Harvard*, at Cambridge, Mass.

Saturday, Nov. 19, Cornell*, Franklin Field

*- Ivy League game

02/10 13:08:01 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.