Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Northern Colorado announces 2011 schedule

Greeley, CO (Sports Network) - Northern Colorado football will play six home games in new head coach Earnest Collins Jr.'s first season in 2011.

A Sept. 3 game against visiting Lindenwood University kicks off Northern Colorado's season. The Bears' other games at Nottingham Field will be against Big Sky Conference members Weber State (Sept. 24, Homecoming), Sacramento State (Oct. 8), Montana State (Oct. 22) and Portland State (Nov. 12) as well as a meeting with North Dakota (Oct. 29) of the Great West Conference.

One of the Bears' road games will be played less than an hour away in Fort Collins at FBS member Colorado State Sept. 10.

Northern Colorado finished 3-8 overall and 2-6 in the Big Sky this past season.

2011 Northern Colorado Football Schedule

All Times Eastern

Sept. 3, Lindenwood, Nottingham Field, 3:35 p.m.

Sept. 10, Colorado State, Fort Collins, Colo., TBA

Sept. 17, *Idaho State, Pocatello, Idaho, 5:35 p.m.

Sept. 24, *Weber State (Homecoming), Nottingham Field, 3:35 p.m.

Oct. 1, *Montana, Missoula, Mont., 3:05 p.m.

Oct. 8, *Sacramento State, Nottingham Field, 4:35 p.m.

Oct. 15, *Eastern Washington, Cheney, Wash., 8:05 p.m.

Oct. 22, *Montana State, Nottingham Field, 3:35 p.m.

Oct. 29, North Dakota, Nottingham Field, 3:35 p.m.

Nov. 5, *Northern Arizona, Flagstaff, Ariz., 5:05 p.m.

Nov. 12, *Portland State, Nottingham Field, 3:05 p.m.

*-Big Sky Conference game

01/28 11:02:38 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.