Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Tuskegee tops Alabama State in Turkey Day Classic

Montgomery, AL (Sports Network) - Tuskegee won the oldest football classic among the nation's Historically Black Colleges and Universities, beating Alabama State for the second straight year, 17-10, in the Turkey Day Classic at the Cramton Bowl.

Joshua Harris threw for a touchdown and Nykeem Barton rushed for one to power Division II Tuskegee (9-2), which completed a sweep of the Football Championship Subdivision teams that will play in the SWAC Championship Game on Dec. 11, Alabama State (7-4) and Texas Southern (8-3). The Golden Tigers extended their series lead over Alabama State to 60-33-4, including 48-31-3 in the Turkey Day Classic.

Tuskegee built a 10-0 halftime lead on Barton's 18th touchdown run of the season -- a 20-yarder in the first quarter -- and Eduardo Murillo's 24-yard field goal in the second quarter.

A 28-yard field goal by Andrew Lyons in the third quarter cut Alabama State's deficit to 10-3, but Harris connected with Stephen Clements for a two-yard touchdown pass with 9:59 left in the fourth quarter.

Quarterback Devin Dominguez scored on a 5-yard run to pull Alabama State within a touchdown with 8:08 remaining, but the Hornets failed to score again. Dominguez threw for 218 yards, including 105 on seven passes to Nick Andrews.

11/25 21:07:43 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.