Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Lehigh, Lafayette meet for 146th time

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Lehigh will try to complete a perfect season in the Patriot League when its visits Lafayette on Saturday in the 146th meeting of the most-played rivalry in college football.

No. 22 Lehigh has locked up an outright Patriot League title and its first FCS playoff berth since 2004. The Mountain Hawks are trying to become just the second team in the last seven years to finish unbeaten in league games - joining the 2008 Colgate squad.

Lehigh (8-2, 4-0) is on a six-game winning streak, allowing just 14 points per game during the run. The Mountain Hawks have a balanced squad that features junior quarterback Chris Lum, sophomore wide receiver Ryan Spadola and senior offensive tackle on offense, and junior linebacker Mike Groome and senior cornerback Jarard Cribbs on defense.

Lafayette (2-8, 1-3) lost its third straight game last weekend, but quarterback Ryan O'Neil won Patriot League Offensive Player of the Week honors. He completed 35-of-42 passes for 335 yards and four touchdowns without an interception. Mark Layton caught a school-record 13 passes for 175 yards and two touchdowns.

"The Rivalry," which began in 1884, predates football trophies, so the winning team just keeps the game ball to display in its athletic department.

Lehigh has won the last two meetings, but Lafayette holds a 76-64-5 lead in the series.

The schools are located 17 miles apart in eastern Pennsylvania. Kickoff on Saturday is scheduled for noon in Easton.

11/19 12:10:52 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.