Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Austin takes over at Cornell

Ithaca, NY (Sports Network) - Cornell has named Kent Austin its new head football coach.

Austin spent the past two seasons as the offensive coordinator at Ole Miss and was previously a head coach in the Canadian Football League for the Saskatchewan Roughriders.

"I'm really excited about being here and can't wait to get started," said Austin at his introductory news conference Wednesday. "I didn't take this job just to win an Ivy League championship. Our student-athletes will be the future leaders of our country. Coaching here at Cornell, you better understand that."

Austin's two seasons directing the Ole Miss offense produced the most points in a two-year span in school history, and helped the team register consecutive nine-win seasons for the first time since 1961-62 as well as back-to-back January bowl victories for the first time since 1960-61.

Prior to joining the Rebels coaching staff, Austin guided Saskatchewan to the 2007 Grey Cup title, earning CFL Coach of the Year honors in the process. He was also the offensive coordinator with Toronto of the CFL from 2004-2006.

Austin will inherit a Big Red team that was just 2-8 in 2009 under Jim Knowles, who resigned in December to take the position as defensive coordinator at Duke. Cornell was 26-34 in six seasons with Knowles at the helm.

01/27 10:43:10 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners