Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

NC A&T makes coaching change

Greensboro, NC (Sports Network) - North Carolina A&T has fired head football coach Lee Fobbs and replaced him with George Ragsdale on an interim basis.

Fobbs was in his third year with the Aggies, who are 2-6 in 2008 after consecutive 0-11 seasons. The team is 0-4 in Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference play and was coming off a 42-7 loss at Delaware State for its sixth straight setback.

"We feel like this is the best decision for the program at this time," said NC A&T athletic director Wheeler Brown. "I certainly want to thank Lee for all his efforts over the last 2 1/2 years, and I want to wish him well in all his future endeavors. The program just needs a new direction."

Ragsdale was in his third season as the Aggies' running backs coach. He started his coaching career as an assistant at NC A&T in 1983 -- the first of three coaching stints with his alma mater -- and has been an assistant on the collegiate level for 23 years.

"My job is to keep these young men focused on what is ahead of us and not what has already happened," said Ragsdale. "We have four games remaining, starting with Howard on Saturday, and that's where our focus as a football team belongs. We have to make the best of what is left in this season."

Ragsdale, a 1976 graduate of NC A&T and a member of the school's Hall of Fame, helped the Aggies to a share of the MEAC title in 1975 and was considered one of the top running backs in school history.

10/20 16:25:20 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.