Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Marist to join Pioneer League in 2009

St. Louis, MO (Sports Network) - Pioneer Football League commissioner Patty Viverito announced that Marist College accepted the league's invitation for membership on Thursday.

"The Pioneer Football League enthusiastically welcomes Marist as our newest member," said Viverito. "PFL expansion is a positive step toward growing non- scholarship football, within the league and nationally."

Marist, which is currently a member of the non-scholarship Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference and has three conference titles to its credit, will join the PFL in 2009 as the league's 10th member.

"We are proud to be included in a league with schools known nationally for their accomplishments in the classroom and on the football field," said Marist College president Dr. Dennis J. Murray. "Marist fosters an appreciation of what it means to be a true student-athlete, encouraging success in academics as well as athletics.

"The colleges and universities in the Pioneer League share this same philosophy, so we feel we have found the right home for our football program."

The Pioneer Football League, which recently completed its 15th season, is a non-scholarship NCAA Football Championship Sub-Division conference. The league will expand to nine members in 2008 with the addition of Campbell University.

02/28 15:58:15 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.