Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football
Walter Payton Award
The Sports Network established the Walter Payton Player of the Year Award in 1987, and it is presented annually to the most outstanding college football player on the FCS level. The winner is chosen by a nationwide panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries from the division. When the award was established, it was the only such award to be presented to an individual player in FCS football. It has since been joined by the Buck Buchanan Award, which was established in 1995 and honors the outstanding defensive player in the FCS and the Jerry Rice Award, presented annually beginning in 2011, honoring the outstanding freshman in the FCS.

Payton, who played collegiately for Jackson State, set the NCAA record for points scored in a career with 464. He scored 66 touchdowns for the Tigers, while rushing for 3,563 yards. Payton also kicked five field goals and 53 PATs in his four-year career at JSU. He set nine school records, six of which still stand today.

However, Payton's collegiate accomplishments pale in comparison to the numbers he posted in his professional career. Upon his retirement, he was the NFL's all-time leading rusher with 16,726 yards, and the Chicago Bears' all-time leading scorer with 750 points, as well as the holder of eight NFL records and 28 Bears records. In 1977, at the age of 23, Payton became the youngest player to be voted NFL MVP. He added a second league MVP award following the 1985 season. During his 13-year NFL career, Payton was named to the Pro Bowl nine times. He also was named a member of the NFL's prestigious 75th Anniversary Team.

As active as he was on the field, Payton was equally active in charity work off the field. He was honorary chairman for the 1983 Heart Association Jump Rope for Health, and for the Illinois Mental Health Association from 1978 through 1980. Payton also was involved with the Boy Scouts, March of Dimes, Brian Piccolo Research Fund, United Way, the Peace Corps and the Walter & Connie Payton Foundation, which is dedicated to supporting neglected, abused and underpriveleged children.

FCS Football News
· Three RBs added to Payton Award Watch List

· Emanuel, Underwood join Buchanan Award Watch List

· Varga, Perish lead FCS players of the week

More News

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.