Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Greg Peach captures 2008 Buck Buchanan Award

Eastern Washington defensive end honored as most outstanding defensive player in FCS college football

Greg Peach
Greg Peach led FCS in sacks (1.64 per game, 18 total for 103 yards in losses) and tackles for loss (2.05 per game, 22.5 total, 133 yards) in 2008.
Chattanooga, TN (Sports Network) - Eastern Washington defensive end Greg Peach was named the 14th winner of the Buck Buchanan Award on Thursday night at The Sports Network's Football Championship Subdivision Awards Banquet, held at the Chattanooga Marriott on the eve of the NCAA Division I Football Championship title game.

The Buchanan Award, named for the legendary Grambling and Kansas City Chiefs defensive tackle, is presented annually to the top defensive player in FCS.

"Coming in as a freshman, you see the award and you think about it," said Peach. "But I never thought I would have won it. To even be a top-16 guy on the Buchanan watch list was unbelievable for me."

Peach led FCS in sacks (1.64 per game, 18 total for 103 yards in losses) and tackles for loss (2.05 per game, 22.5 total, 133 yards) in 2008, recording six multi-sack games and 72 tackles along the way. The campaign included an eye-opening four-sack effort against perennial FCS stalwart Montana on Oct. 11.

Peach was just one sack away from the Big Sky Conference single-season record, owned by Montana's Andy Petak with 19, and finished fifth-best in FCS history. He is second in the Big Sky and fourth in FCS for career sacks with 35.5, finishing just three sacks behind Jared Allen of Idaho State, the 2003 Buchanan Award winner and now an NFL standout. Peach also owns school standards for single-season and career sacks, as well as tackles for loss marks for a season and a career.

The 6-2, 250-pound defensive lineman from Vancouver, WA ended his season with a flourish in the Eagles' 33-26 victory over Big Sky co-champion and No. 8-ranked Weber State - a win that cost the Wildcats a perfect conference record, an outright league title and a probable seed in the NCAA playoffs.

With 1:02 remaining and WSU running back Trevyn Smith heading towards an apparent game-tying touchdown, Peach recovered a fumble on his final college play to seal his team's victory and give EWU a winning season.

Peach won by the largest margin in Buchanan Award history, earning 39 first-place votes and 313 points to finish 107 points ahead of runner-up Jovan Belcher, a defensive end from Maine. Belcher had 15 first-place votes and 206 points, while Appalachian State safety Mark LeGree placed third with 183 points.

The Buck Buchanan Award was established in 1995 by The Sports Network. Past winners of the honor include current NFL standouts such as Minnesota Vikings defensive end Jared Allen (2003, Idaho State), Jacksonville Jaguars safety Rashean Mathis (2002, Bethune-Cookman), along with former Dallas Cowboys Pro Bowl linebacker Dexter Coakley (1995-96, Appalachian State).


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com