Conference Stats Conference Tournaments Women's Tournament
Mid-American Conference Basketball Tournament
(Seeds in Parenthesis)

From The Sports Network

Site: Quicken Loans Arena (20,562) -- Cleveland, Ohio
Dates: Wednesday, March 12th through Saturday, March 15th
Annual: 29th
Defending Champion: Miami-Ohio def. Akron, 53-52
Television: Fox Sports Net-Ohio (Quarters/Semis), ESPN2 (Championship Game)
Wednesday, March 12th - Opening Round
Eastern Michigan 59, (10) Ball State (6-24) 55
Central Michigan 83, (11) Northern Illinois (6-22) 71
Toledo 52, (9) Bowling Green (13-17) 48
Miami-Ohio 69, (12) Buffalo (10-20) 68
Thursday, March 13th - Quarterfinal Round
Western Michigan 70, (7) Eastern Michigan (14-17) 61
Akron 81, (6) Central Michigan (14-17) 60
Kent State 77, (8) Toledo (11-19) 57
Miami-Ohio 74, (4) Ohio (19-12) 61
Friday, March 14th - Semifinal Round
Akron 73, (2) Western Michigan (20-12) 62
Kent State 49, (5) Miami-Ohio (17-15) 47
Saturday, March 15th - Championship Game
(1) Kent State (28-6) 74, (3) Akron (23-10) 55
Tournament Titles and Records
 SchoolTitlesLast Tourney Record  
 Ball State72000 35-19  
 Miami-Ohio42007 33-22  
 Ohio University42005 27-22  
 Kent State42006 26-21  
 Eastern Michigan41998 20-22  
 Central Michigan22003 11-13  
 Toledo11980 22-22  
 Western Michigan12004 13-21  
 Northern Illinois11982 8-12  
 Bowling Green0 16-25  
 Buffalo0 5-8  
 Akron0 5-10  
Past Mid-American Tournament Winners, Results and Most Valuable Players
2008Kent State def. Akron, 74-55 (Haminn Quaintance)
2007Miami-Ohio def. Akron, 53-52 (Tim Pollitz)
2006Kent State def. Toledo, 71-66 (Kevin Warzynski)
2005Ohio Universtiy def. Buffalo, 80-79 (OT) (Leon Williams)
2004Western Michigan def. Kent State, 77-66 (Mike Williams)
2003Central Michigan def. Kent State, 77-67 (Chris Kaman)
2002Kent State def. Bowling Green, 70-59 (Trevor Huffman)
2001Kent State def. Miami-Ohio, 67-61 (Trevor Huffman)
2000Ball State def. Miami-Ohio, 61-58 (Duane Clemens)
1999Kent State def. Miami-Ohio, 49-43 (John Whorton)
1998Eastern Michigan def. Miami-Ohio, 92-77 (Earl Boykins)
1997Miami-Ohio def. Eastern Michigan, 96-76 (Devin Davis)
1996Eastern Michigan def. Toledo, 77-63 (Brian Tolbert)
1995Ball State def. Eastern Michigan, 77-70 (Steve Payne)
1994Ohio University def. Miami-Ohio, 89-66 (Gary Trent)
1993Ball State def. Western Michigan, 79-64 (Steve Payne)
1992Miami-Ohio def. Ball State, 58-57 (Bill Gillis)
1991Eastern Michigan def. Toledo, 67-66 (Marcus Kennedy)
1990Ball State def. Central Michigan, 78-56 (Billy Butts)
1989Ball State def. Kent, 67-65 (Billy Butts)
1988Eastern Michigan def. Ohio University, 94-80 (Grant Long)
1987Central Michigan def. Kent, 64-63 (Dan Majerle)
1986Ball State def. Miami-Ohio, 87-79 (Dan Palombizio)
1985Ohio University def. Miami-Ohio, 74-64 (Ron Harper)
1984Miami-Ohio def. Kent, 42-40 (Chuck Stahl)
1983Ohio University def. Bowling Green, 59-56 (John Devereux)
1982Northern Illinois def. Ball State, 79-75 (Allen Rayhorn)
1981Ball State def. Northern Illinois, 79-66 (Ray McCallum)
1980Toledo def. Bowling Green, 85-70 (Jim Swaney)
Winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. All times Eastern. This is the ninth year that the tournament is being held at Quicken Loans Arena (formerly known as Gund Arena) in Cleveland. The MAC Tournament has been contested at several different sites over the years, most recently the SeaGate Centre in Toledo from 1996-99. Last year, fourth-seeded Miami-Ohio defeated second-seeded Akron, 53-52, for their fourth MAC Tournament title and first since 1997. Miami-Ohio lost to Oregon, 58-56, in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. Kent State has played in the six of the last nine championship games. Ball State (1989-90) and Kent State (2001-02) are the only schools to win this tournament two straight years. Kent State's Trevor Huffman (2001-02) and Ball State's Billy Butts (1989-90) are the only players in conference history to win two straight tournament MVP's. The top four teams from the regular season will receive byes in the opening round.

03/16 15:41:34 ET

As of March 16, 2008, at 03:41 PM ET

March Madness Scores
©2015 The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |