Race-Day Info:
Auto Racing Extras
More Auto Racing
Verizon IndyCar Series - Firestone G.P. of St. Petersburg Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, March 30
SITE: Streets of St. Petersburg -- St. Petersburg, Fla.
TRACK: 1.8-mile, 14-turn temporary street circuit
ANNUAL: 10th
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 3:20 p.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, March 29/2 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Helio Castroneves
POLE WINNER: Will Power (finished 16)
LAPS: 110
MILES: 198
QUALIFYING RECORD: Will Power, 2013 (105.870 mph)
RACE RECORD: Helio Castroneves, 2006 (92.340 mph)
2013 Finish
1James Hinchcliffe46Simona de Silvestro3
2Helio Castroneves57E.J. Viso22
3Marco Andretti78Takuma Sato2
4Tony Kanaan119Justin Wilson13
5Scott Dixon2010Alex Tagliani17
2013 Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 83.539 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 22 mins. 12.5502 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.0982 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 4 for 29 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 4 among 4 drivers
POLE WINNER: Will Power (105.870 mph)
FASTEST LAP: Will Power, 103.303 mph, Lap 3
Past Firestone G.P. of St. Petersburg Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2013 -- James Hinchcliffe (4) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 83.539 mph
2012 -- Helio Castroneves (5) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 90.113 mph
2011 -- Dario Franchitti (2) -- Dallara-Honda -- 89.260 mph
2010 -- Will Power (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 84.975 mph
2009 -- Ryan Briscoe (4) -- Dallara-Honda -- 81.542 mph
2008 -- Graham Rahal (9) -- Dallara-Honda -- 74.251 mph
2007 -- Helio Castroneves (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 89.166 mph
2006 -- Helio Castroneves (5) -- Dallara-Honda -- 92.340 mph
2005 -- Dan Wheldon (9) -- Dallara-Honda -- 83.140 mph
Past Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Pole Winners (Finish)
2013 -- Will Power -- 16
2012 -- Will Power -- 7
2011 -- Will Power -- 2
2010 -- Will Power -- 1
2009 -- Graham Rahal -- 7
2008 -- Tony Kanaan -- 3
2007 -- Helio Castroneves -- 1
2006 -- Dario Franchitti -- 19
2005 -- Bryan Herta -- 4
Last Race Results
RACE: MAVTV 500 (Oct. 19, 2013)
SITE: Auto Club Speedway -- Fontana, Calif.
MILES: 500
LAPS: 250
WINNER: Will Power
RUNNER-UP: Ed Carpenter
THIRD: Tony Kanaan
FOURTH: James Hinchcliffe
FIFTH: Scott Dixon
POLE WINNER: Will Power (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 3 hrs., 13 mins., 42.8699 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.4883 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 154.867 mph
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 55 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 28 among 11 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Will Power 1-11; Sebastien Bourdais 12-31; Ryan Hunter-Reay
32-34; Power 35-38; James Jakes 39; Hunter-Reay 40-81; Helio
Castroneves 82; Marco Andretti 83-84; Castroneves 85-86; Tony
Kanaan 87-89; Bourdais 90-102; Castroneves 103-126; Alex Tagliani
127-128; Bourdais 129; Tagliani 130-131; Andretti 132, Tagliani
133; Power 134-160; Charlie Kimball 161-163; Power 164-193; Ed
Carpenter 194; Scott Dixon 195-198; Power 199-215; Kimball 216;
Dixon 217; Kimball 218-227; Bourdais 228; Kimball 229-236; Power
Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Chevrolet/Team Penske
7Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
8Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Chevrolet/KVSH Racing
12Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
17Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing
18To Be AnnouncedHonda/Dale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Honda/Dale Coyne Racing
20Mike Conway (Bromley, England)Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Honda/Andretti Autosport
27 *James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada)Honda/Andretti Autosport
28Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)Honda/Andretti Autosport
34Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia)Honda/Andretti-HVM
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
99Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England)Honda/BHA/BBM
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last nine years)
James Hinchcliffe---------------------4Won
Helio Castroneves20WonWon2---420Won2
Marco Andretti---15425131224143
Tony Kanaan23335103254
Scott Dixon6222216181625
Justin Wilson---------93210109
Sebastien Bourdais------------------252111
Charlie Kimball------------------222212
Graham Rahal---------Won79171213
Will Power---------86Won2716
Ryan Hunter-Reay------17---21121318
Simon Pagenaud---------------------624
Ryan Briscoe14------23Won3182---
Juan Pablo Montoya---------------------------
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Will Power
Last Week's Pick to Win (Oct. 19, 2013 - Scott Dixon) - finished 5
The 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series season begins with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on the streets of St. Petersburg, Fla.

St. Petersburg has hosted an IndyCar race each year since 2005. This event has been the season-opener in the series the past three years as well as in 2009.

Helio Castroneves is the only driver with multiple victories in the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. Castroneves has won this race three times (2006, '07 and '12).

James Hinchcliffe scored his first career IndyCar victory in last year's race in St. Petersburg. Hinchcliffe passed Castroneves for the lead after a restart on lap 85. He then held off Castroneves for the remaining 26 laps. Hinchcliffe became the first Canadian driver to win an IndyCar race since Paul Tracy took the checkered flag for the 2007 CART Series event in Cleveland.

Dan Wheldon won the inaugural IndyCar race in St. Petersburg in '05.

Tony Kanaan has seven top-5 finishes in St. Petersburg, which is more than any other driver. Kanaan has yet to win a race at this circuit. His best finish there is second, which came in '05.

The winner in St. Petersburg has gone on to win the IndyCar championship twice in nine years of the event: Wheldon (2005) and Dario Franchitti (2011).

The Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg has been won from the pole position just twice: Castroneves (2007) and Will Power (2010). Power has won the pole in each of the last four races in St. Pete.

When Graham Rahal took the checkered flag in St. Petersburg on April 6, 2008, he became the youngest driver ever to win an IndyCar race. Rahal was 19 years and 93 days old when he scored his first career victory in the series.

The next race is the April 13 Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on the streets of Long Beach, Calif. Takuma Sato won last year's event there.

03/26 10:37:50 ET

As of March 26, 2014, at 10:38 AM ET

Indy Car News
· IndyCar releases its 2015 schedule

· Conway wins race 2 in Toronto IndyCar doubleheader

· Bourdais wins rain-delayed race 1 in Toronto

More News
IndyCar Series