Franchitti wins at Milwaukee, ties Power in points

West Allis, WI (Sports Network) - Dario Franchitti moved into a tie with Will Power in the IZOD IndyCar Series point standings after winning Sunday's Milwaukee 225 in dominating fashion at The Milwaukee Mile.

Franchitti, the pole sitter, led 161 of 225 laps, but had to rally in the closing laps to claim his third victory of the season and the 29th of his IndyCar career. He won the inaugural race at Milwaukee in 2004.

Helio Castroneves led in the late going, but experienced low pressure in his left rear tire. Tony Kanaan was running second and attempting to catch Castroneves for the top position, but lost control and backed into the wall in turn four with fewer than 30 laps remaining.

During the caution, Castroneves was forced to pit for four new tires. That allowed Franchitti to take the lead for good. Franchitti crossed the finish line 1.4 seconds ahead of his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Graham Rahal.

Kanaan led 33 laps before his incident.

"Kanaan showed up; he was really strong," Franchitti said. "It's typical racing with Tony. You can race with him inches apart. He gives you room, and I gave him room. It's a lot of respect.

"And then you race with Helio. You would think after last year's penalty [at Edmonton], the guy would quit with the blocking stuff. He pushed me down one way against the wall, and then pushed me outside towards the marbles. I don't know what it will take for him to understand that blocking is not allowed."

Franchitti, Kanaan and Castroneves were the only drivers who led in this race.

Power and Franchitti have accumulated 271 points each, and 10 races remain in this year's 17-race schedule.

"The championship will take care of itself if we keep winning races; That's why we do this," Franchitti said.

Franchitti and Rahal gave Ganassi a 1-2 finish.

"My [team] did a great job," said Rahal, who started 12th. "Qualifying seems to be our weak link, but we're proving time and time again that when we get in the race we can compete with these guys."

Oriol Servia finished third.

Power started 17th and had a dismal performance in the first half of the race before rebounding in closing stages to finish fourth.

"The guys did a great job in the pits," Power said. "A couple of those double- file restarts were good for me and couple were bad. I was happy to get the car up there. I guess we're equal in points now, so good job by Dario. He came back from Texas to teach us a lesson."

Danica Patrick's fifth-place run marked her first top-five finish in IndyCar this season.

James Hinchcliffe, Scott Dixon, who won the last race at Milwaukee in 2009, Takuma Sato, Castroneves and Justin Wilson finished sixth through 10th, respectively.

06/19 19:15:26 ET

©2015 The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |