Race-Day Info:
Auto Racing Extras
More Auto Racing

Can Franchitti claim another win at Iowa?

Newton, IA (Sports Network) - Series: IZOD IndyCar. Date: Saturday, June 25. Race: Iowa Corn Indy 250. Site: Iowa Speedway. Track: 0.875-mile oval. Start Time: 8:00 p.m. (et). Laps: 250. Miles: 218.75. 2010 Winner: Tony Kanaan. Television: VERSUS. Radio: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite.

The IZOD IndyCar Series will run on the 7/8-mile Iowa Speedway this weekend. Following Iowa, the next three IndyCar races will be held on road/street courses -- Toronto, Edmonton and Mid Ohio.

After winning last Sunday at The Milwaukee Mile, Dario Franchitti moved into a tie with Will Power for the lead in the point standings. Franchitti won the inaugural IndyCar race at Iowa in 2007 and claimed his second victory here in 2009. He missed Iowa in 2008 when he competed in the NASCAR Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series.

Last year, Franchitti led a race-high 69 laps but suffered a a gear-box issue in the late going and finished 18th. The Chip Ganassi Racing driver is hoping for redemption here on Saturday night.

"We've got to go there and do the job, and if we do the job, we'll be in a good situation, and if we don't, we move on," he said.

Tony Kanaan snapped a 34-race winless streak last year at Iowa. Kanaan, who drove for Andretti Autosport at the time, passed Helio Castroneves from Team Penske with 10 laps remaining and then held off Castroneves by 4.2 seconds at the finish for his 14th career IndyCar win but his first since June 2008 at Richmond.

Prior to his win, Kanaan had crashed in the first three races at Iowa, finishing no better than 14th.

"When you go to a track that you've crashed the last three times you were there, obviously you're a little bit concerned," Kanaan said. "We're always a contender there. To get my first finish there with a win was the best case scenario that we could possibly have."

Kanaan, in his first season with KV Racing Technology, is presently sixth in points, with five top-10 finishes in the first eight races. His best run so far this year is third, which came in the season-opener at St. Petersburg, FL.

"I'm looking forward to getting my first win of the year and the first win for KV in Iowa," he said.

Kanaan led 33 laps at Milwaukee but crashed late in the race and ended up with a 19th-place result.

All three Team Penske drivers finished in the top-five in last year's race at Iowa, with Castroneves taking second, Ryan Briscoe fourth and Will Power, the pole sitter, fifth. Iowa is one of two ovals on the 2011 IndyCar schedule where Penske has not won a race. Las Vegas is the other track.

Twenty-six teams are on the preliminary entry list for the Iowa Corn Indy 250.

06/22 18:08:17 ET

Indy Car News
· Pagenaud to drive fourth entry for Team Penske in 2015

· Power claims first IndyCar title, Kanaan wins at Fontana

· IndyCar driver Aleshin injured during practice crash at Fontana

More News
IndyCar Series