=== South Carolina gets back to super regionals ===
 Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - South Carolina is a step closer to playing
 for its third straight College World Series title.
 The  Gamecocks held  off Clemson, 4-3, Sunday to capture the Columbia Regional
 with a 3-0 record and pick up their NCAA-record 19th straight postseason win.
 Clemson scored in the ninth to trim its deficit, but stranded the tying run on
 first  base, making South  Carolina the first of what will be 16 teams to make
 the super regionals.
 The  Gamecocks made it out of the region with a 7-0 win over Manhattan Friday,
 a  5-4 victory over Clemson in 12 innings on Saturday and another win over its
 in-state rival Sunday.
 They  beat UCLA in  2010 and Florida last year for the first two CWS titles in
 school history.
 Also  making the super regionals with 3-0 records Sunday were Florida, Florida
 State, Arkansas, St. John's, Oregon, Kent State, LSU Stanford, UCLA and
 The No. 1 Gators routed Georgia Tech, 15-3, to win the Gainesville Regional at
 and  the  Seminoles made  it through  the Tallahassee  Regional with a perfect
 record after topping Samford, 5-2.
 Florida  State is  in the field for  the 35th straight year, while Samford was
 making its first appearance.
 Arkansas  beat Sam  Houston State, 5-1, in the Houston Regional and St. John's
 won the Chapel Hill Regional after knocking off North Carolina, 9-5.
 Oregon and Kent State will face each other in the super regionals. Oregon beat
 Austin  Peay,  8-1, to win the  Eugene Regional and Kent State edged Kentucky,
 3-2, to go undefeated in the Gary Regional.
 Stanford will play Florida State after beating Pepperdine, 8-7, to win its own
 regional  and LSU topped Oregon State in 10 innings to capture the Baton Rouge
 UCLA made it out of the Los Angeles Regional, dispatching Creighton, 13-5,
 while Arizona pounded Louisville, 16-3, to advance past the Tucson Regional.
 Each  of the 16 teams making it through the 64-team field will play a best-of-
 three super regional. The remaining eight teams make the College World Series,
 which starts June 15 in Omaha, Nebraska.
 06/04 02:26:16 ET

    May    >
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com