=== Florida gets top seed for NCAA baseball tourney ===
 Indianapolis,  IN (Sports  Network) -  Florida has  been selected  as the  top
 overall seed for the 2012 NCAA Division I baseball championship.
 The  64-team tournament  starts on  Friday  with 16  regionals featuring  four
 teams  apiece in  a double-elimination  format.  Those 16  survivors are  then
 paired off for eight best-of-three super regionals before the last eight teams
 earn  trips to  the  College World  Series,  which starts  June  15 in  Omaha,
 UCLA,  Florida  State, Baylor, Oregon,  North Carolina, LSU and South Carolina
 join Florida as the top seeds. South Carolina is the reigning champions as the
 school has won the past two titles.
 The  SEC has eight  schools in the field to lead all conferences while the ACC
 has seven. The Pac-12 sent five schools to the tournament while the Big-12 and
 C-USA each sent four.
 Making  it  to the  tourney for  the first  time are  Dayton and Samford while
 Miami-Florida  again  earned a berth,  extending an  NCAA record with its 40th
 straight  appearance.  Florida State  is in  the field  for a 35th consecutive
 A total of 37 of the 64 teams made the tournament last year.
 05/28 17:16:24 ET

    May    >
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com