Waste WatchQuestion of the Day: Penn StateMost Viewed StoryOn Time TrafficJames Holmes Court Appearance

How did 2008-09 stack up against the past?

Chris Paul came close to cracking the top 30 All-Time in APG and SPG.
Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - We get a lot of hyperbole from media, players and fans about how great something is. How often did we hear this year "That's the greatest play you'll ever see"? or "He's the best I've ever seen". Most of the time the word "greatest" and "best" are overused.

Yes, LeBron James, Kobe Bryant and Dwight Howard are very good ballplayers. But are they the best? Are they even in the top-10 all-time?

I've heard fantasy owners say it too. But they, like the broadcasters they likely heard it from, are wrong. I have put together a list of the best single seasons for points-per-game, rebounds-per-game, assists-per-game, steals-per- game and blocks-per-game and not one of this year's superstar athletes even made the top-30.

Think about how high you would have bid for Wilt Chamberlain in a fantasy auction league had they been around in that era? Do you think his 50.4-point, 25.6-rebound-per-game season would have helped your fantasy roster a little bit?

Can't wait for next season to arrive and it's just the second week in June.

2008-09 Rankings vs. History
Points-Per-Game Rebounds-Per-Game
Player Year PPG Player Year RPG
Wilt Chamberlain 1961 50.4 Wilt Chamberlain 1960 27.2
Wilt Chamberlain 1962 44.9 Wilt Chamberlain 1959 27
Wilt Chamberlain 1960 38.3 Wilt Chamberlain 1961 25.6
Wilt Chamberlain 1959 37.6 Bill Russell 1963 24.7
Michael Jordan 1986 37.1 Wilt Chamberlain 1965 24.6
Dwayne Wade 2009 30.2 (61st best) Dwight Howard 2009 13.8 (170th best)

Assists-Per-Game Steals-Per-Game
Player Year APG Player Year SPG
John Stockton 1989 14.5 Don Buse 1975 4.12
John Stockton 1990 14.2 Alvin Robertson 1985 3.67
Isiah Thomas 1984 13.9 Don Buse 1976 3.47
John Stockton 1987 13.8 Magic Johnson 1980 3.43
John Stockton 1991 13.7 MR Richardson 1979 3.23
Chris Paul 2009 11.04 (34th best) Chris Paul 2009 2.77 (34th best)

Player Year BPG
Mark Eaton 1984 5.56
Manute Bol 1985 4.96
Elmore Smith 1973 4.85
Mark Eaton 1985 4.61
Hakeem Olajuwon 1989 4.59
Dwight Howard 2009 2.92 (103rd best)

Comments? Criticism? Applause? Contact Steve Schwarz at sschwarz@sportsnetwork.com.

Powered by The Sports Network.