Canadian Football League

Calvillo, Owens headline CFL All-Star squad

Toronto, ON (Sports Network) - Montreal Alouettes quarterback Anthony Calvillo and Toronto Argonauts receiver Chad Owens were among 27 players named to the 2012 CFL All-Star team, which the league unveiled Monday.

Calvillo earned his fifth career All-Star honor after throwing for over 5,000 yards and was won of six Alouettes selected, along with offensive linemen Luc Brodeur-Jourdain, Scott Flory and John Bourke, linebacker Shea Embry and safety Kyries Hebert.

Owens, recently named the CFL's Most Outstanding Offensive Player for the 2012 season, was one of three players from the Grey Cup champion Argonauts honored, with defensive tackle Armond Armstead and cornerback Pat Watkins also making the list.

The Western Conference champion Calgary Stampeders also garnered six All-Star selections, as did the B.C. Lions.

Calgary's recipients were headlined by running back Jon Cornish, the runner-up to Owens for the MOP award, and receiver Nik Lewis. B.C.'s Andrew Harris joined Cornish as an All-Star at running back, while four Lions defenders -- end Keron Williams, linebacker Adam Bighill and backs Korey Banks and Ryan Phillips -- made the squad.

The Edmonton Eskimos had three choices, led by linebacker and 2012 Most Outstanding Defensive Player J.C. Sherrit, a former Buck Buchanan Award recipient at Eastern Washington.

This season's Most Outstanding Special Teams Player, Hamilton's Chris Williams, was the only member of the Ti-Cats to be named an All-Star. Saskatchewan (receiver Weston Dressler) and Winnipeg (defensive tackle Bryant Turner) also had only one selection.

The All-Stars were selected by 57 voting members, including the eight CFL head coaches, Football Reporters of Canada and fans from across the country.

12/03 23:27:39 ET

WMMP MYTV Charleston :: Advertise with us!