Email List

Watch Newscasts LIVETraffic Senior SegmentPay It ForwardRoad TrippinTailgate PartyAuto Matters
Men's College Hockey
<    September    >

Boston College wins NCAA men's ice hockey title

Detroit, MI (Sports Network) - Cam Atkinson's two goals and 20 saves from John Muse led Boston College to a 5-0 victory over Wisconsin in the 2010 NCAA men's ice hockey championship game from Ford Field.

Muse, who recorded his third shutout of the season, improved to 8-0 in NCAA Tournament games after unbeaten performances in the 2008 and 2010 national championship runs.

Chris Kreider and Matt Price also tallied for the Eagles (29-10-3), who won the fourth hockey title in school history and third in the last 10 seasons.

"This program strives to be excellent and strives for the top and this is it," Price said. "And not getting there last year was something definitely that fed the fire, but our guys have it inherently. They want to win. I've never seen guys work so hard through the summer and all through the year. It was an unbelievable season."

Ben Smith, voted the tourney's Most Outstanding Player, also added a goal for Boston College, which topped Alaska-Fairbanks, Yale and Miami-Ohio to reach the national final for the fourth time in five years.

Scott Gudmandson allowed four goals on 25 shots for the Badgers (28-11-4), who were bidding for their seventh national title and first since beating BC in 2006.

"We had a great journey, great run with these guys," said Wisconsin forward Blake Geoffrion, this year's Hobey Baker Award winner. "We developed great relationships with everyone that's on the team and obviously right now we're pretty disappointed in our play today and they're a better team on the ice."

Wisconsin, which had bested Vermont, St. Cloud State and RIT, finished 0-for-3 on the man advantage and were shut out for the first time since a 2-0 setback to St. Cloud State in the WCHA playoffs on March 19.

The Eagles went up 2-0 at 1:38 of the third period when Atkinson's rush down the left side resulted in a backhander that slid through Gudmandson's legs.

Kreider's deft tip of a lead pass from Jimmy Hayes at 3:40 put BC ahead by three, then Atkinson's second of the period -- another backhander -- made it 4-0 for the Eagles at 7:20.

Wisconsin decided to pull its goaltender with 5 1/2 minutes to play, but the move backfired as Price tallied with 4:31 remaining.

Steven Whitney's slick cross-ice pass found Smith in the slot for a high wrister at 12:57 of the opening period and a 1-0 BC lead on the power play.

Muse made five saves in a defensively-oriented first 20 minutes, then stopped nine more pucks in the second period against a more opportunistic Wisconsin attack.

Game Notes

BC leads the all-time series with Wisconsin, 12-9-0, and has won three straight since losing in the 2006 title game...Wisconsin forward Derek Stepan left the game after suffering an injury during a collision on BC's third goal and did not return...Boston College head coach Jerry York won his fourth career national title (three with BC, one with Bowling Green). It was his 850th career victory...This was the first men's hockey title game decided with a shutout since Denver beat Maine, 1-0, back in 2004...Attendance was 37,592, setting an all-time record for a college playoff contest.

04/10 23:58:31 ET