National Football League

Chicago Bears 46, New England Patriots 10
Louisiana Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana
January 26, 1986
Attendance: 73,818
Chicago Bears (NFC)131021246
New England Patriots (AFC)300710
Most Valuable Player: Richard Dent, Chicago Bears
The Bears tied a Super Bowl record with seven sacks and limited the Pats to a record low seven rushing yards.
Believe it or not, the Patriots actually led 3-0 against the almighty Chicago Bears!

The Bears, who nearly ran the table through the regular season, earned their first NFL title since1963 and registered a Super Bowl record 46 points. The previous record was set by San Francisco and the Los Angeles Raiders (38) in Super Bowls XIX and XVIII respectively.

The Bears tied a Super Bowl record with seven sacks and limited the Pats to a record low seven rushing yards.

Ironically, New England jumped out to the quickest lead in Super Bowl history, scoring on a 36-yard field goal by Tony Franklin just 1:19 into the game. However, the Bears would respond with 44 unanswered points.

In fact, Chicago rolled to a 21-3 halftime lead and held an amazing 236 to minus 19 yards advantage. Jim McMahon became the first Super Bowl quarterback to run for two scores (2 and 1 yard). Richard Dent became the fourth defender to garner the MVP trophy. Dent contributed 1 1/2 sacks.

The 36 points margin of victory was the largest in history, topping the previous mark of 29 held by the Raiders (38-9 vs. Wash, XVIII). McMahon completed 12-of-20 passes for 256 yards before leaving the game with a wrist injury. Walter Payton, Chicago's future Hall-of-Fame back, was pretty much held in check, rushing for just 61 yards on 22 carries. Willie Gault pulled in four receptions for129 yards, the fourth most receiving yards in a Super Bowl.

Mike Ditka became only the second man (Tom Flores, Raiders) to play in a Super Bowl and coach another to victory.

The game also saw William "The Refrigerator" Perry, a massive 300-pound defensive lineman, score a rushing TD. Also, the game featured two coaches being carried off the field by the winning team: head coach Ditka and defensive genious Buddy Ryan, who developed the popular 46 defense.