IndyCar Series
IZOD IndyCar Series - Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, April 7
SITE: Barber Motorsports Park (2003) -- Birmingham, Ala.
TRACK: 2.38-mile, 17-turn road course
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 3:40 p.m. (ET)
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, April 6/11:25 a.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Scott Dixon
POLE WINNER: Helio Castroneves (finished 3)
LAPS: 90
MILES: 214.2
QUALIFYING RECORD: Will Power, 2012 (118.535 mph - set in Q1)
RACE RECORD: Helio Castroneves, 2010 (106.436 mph)
2012 Finish
1Will Power96James Hinchcliffe2
2Scott Dixon37Mike Conway4
3Helio Castroneves18Rubens Barrichello14
4Graham Rahal89Sebastien Bourdais17
5Simon Pagenaud1010Dario Franchitti18
2012 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 102.081 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 1 min., 40.1127 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 3.3709 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 2 for 10 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 9 among 5 drivers
POLE WINNER: Helio Castroneves (117.485 mph)
FASTEST LAP: Will Power, 114.379 mph, Lap 79
Past Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Will Power (9) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 102.081 mph
2011 -- Will Power (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 92.194 mph
2010 -- Helio Castroneves (3) -- Dallara-Honda -- 106.436 mph
Past Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Helio Castroneves -- 3
2011 -- Will Power -- 1
2010 -- Will Power -- 3
Last Race Results
RACE: Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg (March 24)
SITE: Streets of St. Petersburg -- St. Petersburg, Fla.
MILES: 198
LAPS: 110
WINNER: James Hinchcliffe
RUNNER-UP: Helio Castroneves
THIRD: Marco Andretti
FOURTH: Tony Kanaan
FIFTH: Scott Dixon
POLE WINNER: Will Power (finished 16)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 22 mins., 12.5502 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 83.539 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.0982 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 4 for 29 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 4 among 4 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Will Power 1-26; Helio Castroneves 27-45; Oriol Servia 46-61;
Castroneves 62-84; James Hinchcliffe 85-110.
Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)DHL/Andretti Autosport
2A.J. Allmendinger (Los Gatos, CA)IZOD/Team Penske
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)AAA Insurance/Team Penske
4J.R. Hildebrand (Sausalito, CA)U.S. National Guard/Panther Racing
5E.J. Viso (Caracas, Venezuela)Venezuela/Andretti Autosport/HVM
6Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Dragon Racing
7Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Dragon Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Dario Franchitti (Edinburgh,Scotland)Banana Boat/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)Hydroxycut/KV Racing Technology
12 *Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Verizon/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt Enterprises
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Midas/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
16James Jakes (Leeds, England)Acorn Stairlifts/RLL Racing
18To Be AnnouncedDale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Dale Coyne Racing
20Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, IN)Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing
22Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain)Panther/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)RC Cola/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Autosport
55Tristan Vautier (Corenc, France)Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Schmidt-Hamilton HP Motorsports
78Simona de Silvestro (Thun, Switzer.)Nuclear Entergy Areva/KVRT
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)Race With Insulin/Chip Ganassi Rac
98Alex Tagliani (Lachenaie, QB, Canada)Barracuda Racing/Bryan Herta Autospt
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last two years)
Will Power4WonWon
Scott Dixon222
Helio CastronevesWon73
Graham Rahal17184
Simon Pagenaud---85
James Hinchcliffe---246
Dario Franchitti3310
Marco Andretti5411
Ryan Hunter-Reay121412
Simona de Silvestro21920
Tony Kanaan8621
Mover of the Week
Scott Dixon - Started 20 and finished 5
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Will Power
Last Week's Pick to Win (Will Power) - finished 16
The Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park is the second race on the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series schedule.

BMS, which opened in 2003, has also hosted Grand-Am Sports Car Series and AMA Superbike Championship races. This course features 80 feet of elevation change that makes its challenging for drivers.

The inaugural IndyCar race at Barber took place on April 11, 2010. Helio Castroneves won that event. His Team Penske teammate, Will Power, has claimed victories in the past two races there.

Either Power or Castroneves has won the pole position for an IndyCar race at Barber. Power started first there in 2010 and '11. Castroneves claimed the pole there last year.

Power led all 90 laps in the 2011 race.

Last year's event at Barber featured a track record nine lead changes among five drivers. Power won it from the ninth starting position.

The next IndyCar event is the April 21 Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on the streets of Long Beach, Calif. Will Power is the defending race winner.

04/02 14:07:47 ET

As of April 2, 2013, at 02:07 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

Sports Plus - Ruidoso News