I-A College Football
         === Testaverde, Dayne, Wuerffel headline college HOF class ===
 New  York,  NY (Sports Network)  - Heisman  Trophy winners Vinny Testaverde of
 Miami-Florida,  Ron Dayne of Wisconsin and Danny Wuerffel of Florida highlight
 the 2013 Football Bowl Subdivision class for induction to the College Football
 Hall of Fame.
 A  total  of 12  players  and  two  coaches  were selected  for  enshrinement.
 Induction ceremonies are set for Dec. 10 in New York.
 Joining  the  trio in  this year's  class will  be Nebraska quarterback Tommie
 Frazier,  Ohio State offensive tackle Orlando Pace, Arizona defensive end Tedy
 Bruschi,  North Carolina  State tailback Ted Brown, Texas defensive back Jerry
 Gray,  Kentucky end  Steve Meilinger, Oklahoma linebacker Rod Shoate, Michigan
 State  linebacker  Percy Snow,  Baylor quarterback Don  Trull and coaches Bill
 McCartney and Wayne Hardin.
 "We could not be more proud to announce the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame
 Class,"  said National  Football Foundation  chairman Archie  Manning, a  1989
 College  Football Hall  of Famer from Ole Miss. "These players and coaches are
 some  of the greatest to have ever participated in our sport, and we offer our
 most sincere congratulations to each of them for this incredible achievement."
 Testaverde won the 1986 Heisman and becomes the sixth Hurricane to be inducted
 into  the  Hall of Fame. He  was 23-3 as Miami's starting quarterback, helping
 the  Hurricanes to  three consecutive bowls from 1984-86, including the Fiesta
 Bowl for the national championship after the 1986 season.
 Dayne  became the  first  FBS  player to  reach  7,000  career rushing  yards,
 concluding his career at Wisconsin with 7,125. The 1999 Heisman winner led the
 Badgers  to four  straight  bowl games  and  was  the MVP  in  three of  those
 appearances, including back-to-back Rose Bowl titles.
 Wuerffel  won  the 1996 Heisman  Trophy while  leading Florida to the national
 championship. He was a two-time SEC Player of the Year and finished his career
 with a 45-6-1 mark as the Gators quarterback.
 Frazier  led Nebraska  to back-to-back national titles in 1994 and '95. He was
 the 1995 Heisman runner-up and helped the Cornhuskers to a record of 33-3 with
 four  straight bowl  games from 1992-95, winning MVP honors in the Orange Bowl
 after the '94 season and Fiesta Bowl after the '95 campaign.
 Pace was fourth in the '96 Heisman balloting, the highest finish for a lineman
 since  1980, and  was a two-time unanimous First-Team All-American. He was the
 first  player to  repeat as  winner  of the  Lombardi Trophy,  taking the  top
 lineman award in both 1995 and '96.
 Bruschi  anchored Arizona's "Desert Swarm" defense from 1992-95, finishing his
 career with a then-NCAA record 52 sacks.
 Brown  still holds ACC records with 4,602 rushing yards and 51 touchdowns, set
 during his career with NC State from 1975-78.
 Gray  was a two-time First-Team All-American and helped Texas to four straight
 bowl  games from  1981-84, winning  Southwest  Conference Player  of the  Year
 honors in 1983 and '84.
 Meilinger,  selected  by the  Veterans Committee,  was a two-time All-American
 from 1951-53 at Kentucky under legendary head coach Bear Bryant.
 Shoate,  who  died in 1999, helped  Oklahoma to the 1974 national championship
 and  was  a two-time All-American,  earning Big  Eight Defensive Player of the
 Year twice.
 Snow was the first player in college football history to win both the Lombardi
 and Butkus trophies in the same season, and was named the MVP of the Rose Bowl
 after the 1987 season when the Spartans beat Southern California.
 Trull  threw for  more than  4,000  yards and  27 touchdowns  for Baylor  from
 1961-63,  leading the nation in passing yards and touchdowns during his senior
 McCartney  led Colorado to the 1990 national championship. He guided the Buffs
 to  a record of  93-55-5 with three Big Eight titles and nine bowl games in 13
 seasons from 1982-94.
 Hardin  posted  a record  of 118-74-5  with Navy from  1959-64 and Temple from
 1970-82.  He coached  Heisman  Trophy  winners Joe  Bellino  (1960) and  Roger
 Staubach  (1963) at  Navy  and  is the  all-time  winningest  coach in  Temple
 Among  the  notables not  elected from  the ballot of  77 candidates were 2001
 Heisman  winner Eric  Crouch of  Nebraska, Notre  Dame's Rocket  Ismail, South
 Carolina's Sterling Sharpe, SMU's Eric Dickerson, Indiana's Antwaan Randle El,
 Oklahoma's Brian Bosworth and TCU's LaDainian Tomlinson.
 05/07 13:08:21 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

Sports Plus - Ruidoso News