Football Championship Subdivision

A lot to celebrate in Patriot
(L-R) Ross Scheuerman and Michael Nebrich
Fordham is the Patriot League favorite with QB Michael Nebrich, right,
but defending champ Lafayette and Ross Scheuerman will give chase.
Bethlehem, PA ( - If it's a day of the week that ends with a "y," then Lafayette football coach Frank Tavani and Lehigh counterpart Andy Coen will be answering questions about this year's historic meeting of their teams.

While the Patriot League season will be defined by the 150th meeting of college football's most-played rivalry, don't look beyond everything that will lead up to the big game at Yankee Stadium on Nov. 22.

Everybody in the league is thinking this could be an exceptional season.

The Patriot League already has an exceptional team - Fordham - to steal attention away from Lafayette-Lehigh 150 ... if that's possible. The Rams were installed as an overwhelming favorite to win the league title at football media day on Wednesday, building on their breakout 2013 season when they set a school record with 12 wins.   Full Story

Missouri Valley on a playoff push
By Craig Haley, FCS Exec. Director
Philadelphia, PA ( - Anybody and everybody across the FCS embraced the expansion of the playoff field by four teams to 24 last year, knowing it would bring in more deserving qualifiers.

The conference that has been considered the strongest in the FCS likely never envisioned its playoff qualifiers would go in the other direction - dropping from three to two.

Quite simply, Missouri Valley Football Conference programs found this result to be unacceptable.  Full Story

Powered by The Sports Network.