Other Sports

MWC announces new football divisions, championship game

Denver, CO (Sports Network) - The Mountain West Conference announced on Tuesday the formation of two football divisions and a conference championship game, which will begin in the 2013-14 season.

Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming will play in the Mountain Division and Fresno State, Hawaii, Nevada, San Diego State, San Jose State and UNLV will play in the West Division. Each team will play five divisional games and three cross-divisional contests annually. The actual rotational sequence and matchups will be developed via computer scheduling models.

The division winners will then play in the inaugural Mountain West Football Championship game on Dec. 7, 2013, in the home stadium of the team with the highest BCS ranking.

The new divisions were created based on common geographic regions and traditional rivalries.

There will not be divisions for Mountain West men's and women's basketball. Each team will play an 18-game conference schedule that will include home and home games with eight opponents and single-play games against a rotation of two remaining teams in the conference.

01/22 16:53:31 ET