Thoroughbred Racing

Finalists for 2014 Racing Hall of Fame class revealed

Saratoga Springs, NY ( - Two-time Horse of the Year Curlin and his trainer Steve Asmussen are among the 10 finalists for the class of 2014 of the National Museum of Racing's Hall of Fame.

Joining Curlin and Asmussen as finalists are thoroughbreds Ashado, Kona Gold and Xtra Heat; jockeys Chris Antley, Garrett Gomez, Craig Perret, and Alex Solis; and trainer Gary Jones.

The four nominees who receive the most votes will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Friday, Aug. 8. The inductees will be announced Friday, April 25.

Curlin was Horse of the Year for 2007 and 2008. He won the 2007 Preakness Stakes and Breeders' Cup Classic. He claimed the 2008 Dubai World Cup as well as repeating in winning that year's Jockey Club Gold Cup.

Asmussen trained Curlin and 2009 Horse of the Year Rachel Alexandra. He won Eclipse Awards as champion trainer for 2008-09.

Ashado was the 2004 champion 3-year-old filly and 2005 champion older female. In 2004 the filly won both the Kentucky Oaks and Breeders' Cup Distaff.

Kona Gold won the 2000 Breeders' Cup Sprint and that year's Eclipse Award as champion sprinter.

Xtra Heat was voted the Eclipse Award as 2001's champion 3-year-old filly. She won the 2002 and 2003 editions of the Barbara Fritchie.Handicap at Laurel Park.

Antley, who died in 2000 at age 34, rode Charismatic to victory in the 1999 Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes. The pair finished third in the Belmont Stakes in which the colt was injured. Antley had 3,480 wins and earned $92,261,894.

Gomez was the champion jockey for both 2007 and 2008 and guided Blame in winning the 2010 Breeders' Cup Classic over Zenyatta. He has won 3,687 races and $198,831,184.

Solis, who still rides, won the 1986 Preakness aboard Snow Chief. In 2003 he rode Pleasantly Perfect to a win in the Breeders' Cup Classic and the following year rode the horse in claiming the Dubai World Cup. Coming into 2014, Solis recorded 4,938 victories for $231 million.

Perret won the 1990 Eclipse Award as champion jockey. He retired in 2005 with 4,415 wins and $113,837,299.

Jones retired in 1996 with 1,465 victories and $52,672,611. He was a fixture on the Southern California circuit with training championships at Del Mar, Hollywood Park, and Santa Anita.

03/07 12:57:49 ET