Thoroughbred Racing

Trinniberg headlines Smile Sprint at Calder

Miami Gardens, FL (Sports Network) - Champion sprinter Trinniberg leads a field of 12 for Saturday's six-furlong $350,000 Smile Sprint Handicap at Calder.

The Smile Sprint is a "Win and You're In" event for the Breeders' Cup Sprint on Nov. 2 at Santa Anita.

Trained by Bisnath Parboo, Trinniberg will be ridden by his regular jockey Willie Martinez from the outside post. The 4-year-old colt will be going for his first win of the season after two early failures this year.

Winner of last year's Breeders' Cup Sprint and Eclipse Award winner as champion sprinter, Trinniberg began 2013 with an 11th in a stakes in Dubai and was seventh in the Churchill Downs Stakes on Kentucky Derby Day.

Owned by Sherry Parbhoo. the champion sprinter has won five of 15 career starts for $1,487,736.

The champion's stablemate Off the Jak will start from post 2 with Jose Alvarez in the saddle. The 5-year-old gelding won the Florida Sunshine Million Sprint at Gulfstream Park in January with just one win since in five starts.

Off the Jak has earned $283,342 in 23 lifetime starts with five wins.

Trainer Stanley Gold has a pair of highly regarded runners in the Smile Sprint, Jackson Bend and Fort Loudon.

Breaking from Trinniberg's inside will be veteran racehorse Jackson Bend. In his second start since coming out of retirement the 6-year-old will be ridden by Jeffrey Sanchez for owners Jacks or Better Farm and Robert LaPenta.

Jackson Bend finished fifth in the Ponche Handicap at Calder on June 8 in his first start since his return. It was his first race since last September's Forego when he was seventh.

With nine wins in 29 career starts, the chestnut horse has banked $1,615,700.

Fort Loudon, also owned by Jacks or Better Farm, will be ridden by Fernando Jara from post 9. The 4-year-old had previously been trained by Nick Zito.

Winner of last year's Carry Back at Calder, Fort Loudon captured the Gulfstream Park Sprint Championship in February for his lone victory in 2013. He followed with a third in the Gulfstream Park Handicap, fourth in the Carter at Aqueduct and sixth at Belmont Park in the Met Mile.

Fort Loudon has won eight of 24 career starts for $901,873.

Here is the complete field for the Smile Sprint in post position order: Trickmeister, Orlando Bocachica; Off the Jak, Jose Alvarez; Cajun Breeze, Jesus Rios; Justin Phillip, Ricardo Santana Jr.; Black Diamond Cat, Luca Panici; Apriority, Hugo Sanchez; Bahamian Squall, Luis Saez; Swagger Jack, Jose Lezcano; Fort Loudon, Fernando Jara; Close It Out, Manny Cruz; Jackson Bend, Jeffrey Sanchez and Trinniberg, Willie Martinez. The also eligibles are Artefacto, Grande Shores and On Appeal.

The Smile Sprint has an approximate post-time of 4:26 p.m. (ET).

07/02 10:29:26 ET