Harness Racing

Hambletonian field set with 10 trotters

East Rutherford, NJ (Sports Network) - The 86th edition of the $1.5 million Hambletonian at The Meadowlands will go off Saturday afternoon with 10 three- year-old trotters behind the starting gate for harness racing's premier event.

Last week two elimination heats were used to determine the finalists for the second leg of trotting's Triple Crown.

The 9-5 favorite is second heat winner Manofmanymissions who will be driven by Andy Miller for his brother Erv Miller the trainer. The colt will start from post two, which was chosen by his connections.

Manofmanymissions captured last week's heat by a length over Magnum Kosmos and covered the mile in 1:52 4/5.

"When he's on his 'A' game, he's one of the best horses in his field," Erv Miller said. "I think he's the fastest horse, but he's got to be on his 'A' game."

As a two-year-old, Manofmanymissions won four of six races for $432,900. His biggest win was probably the Breeders Crown at Pocono Downs. This year, the colt has won three of five races with $134,500 for owners Manofmanymissions Stable, Mystical Marker Farms and Maurizio Biasuzzi Stable. Overall he has won seven of 11 races for $567,400.

Last week's first elimination was won by Broad Bahn. For the Hambletonian final he is 4-1 in the program and will again have George Brennan driving for trainer Noel Daley from the rail.

"He's got a great attitude," Brennan said about Broad Bahn. "He's big, he's strong, he gets himself where he's got to be at the beginning of the race."

Owned by Fam Alber Horse Racing, the colt has won three of seven starts this year for $181,101.

The first leg of the Triple Crown, the Yonkers Trot, was won by Leader of the Gang who was not entered in the Hambletonian.

The final leg is the Kentucky Futurity, which will be held in October at The Red Mile in Lexington. There have been nine Triple Crown winning trotters, the last being Glidemaster in 2006.

Here is the complete field for the Hambletonian in post position order: Broad Bahn, George Brennan, 4-1; Manofmanymissions, Andy Miller, 9-5; Fawkes, Yannick Gingras, 15-1; Chapter Seven, Mike Lachance, 7-2; Whit, Tim Tetrick, 8-1; Whiskey Tax, Randy Waples, 15-1; Opening Night, John Campbell, 10-1; Magnum Kosmos, Brian Sears, 15-1; Luckycharm Hanover, David Miller, 15-1 and Pastor Stephen, Ron Pierce, 10-1.

The Hambletonian will air on NBC with a post-time set for 3:45p.m. (et).

08/02 15:22:10 ET