LPGA - ShopRite LPGA Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, June 18th through Sunday, June 20th
SITE: Dolce Seaview Resort (Bay Course), Galloway, New Jersey
COURSE ARCHITECT: Hugh Wilson (1914), Donald Ross (1915),
         Robert Cupp Jr (restoration, 1997-98)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,150
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 345 yds10 - Par 4 352 yds
2 - Par 4 420 yds11 - Par 3 179 yds
3 - Par 5 484 yds12 - Par 4 320 yds
4 - Par 4 360 yds13 - Par 4 405 yds
5 - Par 4 301 yds14 - Par 4 419 yds
6 - Par 4 393 yds15 - Par 3 204 yds
7 - Par 3 180 yds16 - Par 4 377 yds
8 - Par 4 319 yds17 - Par 3 115 yds
9 - Par 5 476 yds18 - Par 5 501 yds
37 3,278 yds34 2,872 yds
Annual:  22nd
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 4:30-7:30 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 3-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Seon Hwa Lee
Runner-Up:  Jeong Jang, Annika Sorenstam, Sherri Steinhauer
Tournament Record:  196 (Annika Sorenstam, 1998, 2005)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Amy Benz, 1996; Denise Killeen, 2004)
Course Record:  62 (Laura Davies, Jimin Kang, 2005)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $225,000; 2nd Place - $136,988; 3rd Place - $99,375
2006 Finish
Seon Hwa Lee197Morgan Pressel201
Jeong Jang200Becky Morgan204
Annika Sorenstam200Gloria Park204
Sherri Steinhauer200Four players at205
Sophie Gustafson201
Past ShopRite LPGA Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2009Not Held
2008Not Held
2007Not Held
2006Seon Hwa Lee (197) -- Jeong Jang, Annika Sorenstam, Sherri Steinhauer
2005Annika Sorenstam (196) -- Juli Inkster
2004Cristie Kerr (202) -- Paula Creamer, Giulia Sergas
2003Angela Stanford (197) -- Becky Morgan
2002Annika Sorenstam (201) -- Carin Koch, Kate Golden, Juli Inkster
2001Betsy King (201) -- Lorie Kane
2000Janice Moodie (203) -- Pat Hurst, Grace Park
1999Se Ri Pak (198) -- Trish Johnson
1998Annika Sorenstam (196) -- Juli Inkster
1997Michelle McGann (201) -- Annika Sorenstam
1996Dottie Pepper (202) -- Amy Benz
1995Betsy King (204) -- Rosie Jones, Beth Daniel
1994Donna Andrews (207) -- Michelle Estill
1993Shelley Hamlin (204) -- Judy Dickinson, Amy Benz, Beth Daniel
1992*Anne-Marie Palli (207) -- Laura Davies
1991Jane Geddes (208) -- Cindy Schreyer, Amy Alcott
1990Chris Johnson (275) -- Pamela Wright
1989Nancy Lopez (209) -- Chris Johnson, Vicki Fergon
1988*Juli Inkster (206) -- Beth Daniel
1987Betsy King (207) -- Nancy Lopez
1986Juli Inkster (209) -- Patti Rizzo

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Atlantic City Classic (1986-91).

Top Contenders in the Field
Seon Hwa Lee------------------Won
Jeong Jang---T-64---T-8T-27T-5T-2
Sherri SteinhauerT-20T-59mcT-47T-18T-51T-2
Sophie GustafsonT-38T-17---mc---T-33T-5
Morgan Pressel------------------T-5
Mi Hyun KimT-20T-25------T-4T-7T-9
Paula Creamer------------T-2T-62T-9
Cristie KerrT-67T-3mcmcWonT-11T-13
Karrie Webb------------T-6T-13T-13
Ai Miyazato------------------T-13
Natalie Gulbis------T-5T-29mcT-9T-19
Angela Stanford---T-17T-24WonmcmcT-19
Juli InksterT-4T-17T-2T-3T-42ndT-25
Catriona MatthewT-44T-3mcT-21T-42T-3T-25
Laura DaviesT-44T-12T-10T-60T-42T-3T-25
Stacy Prammanasudh---------------T-11T-42
Hee-Won Han---T-25------T-11---T-42
Jimin Kang---------------T-7T-49
Suzann Pettersen------mcT-47T-36mcT-55
Pat HurstT-2T-12T-24T-52T-36T-5T-61
Janice MoodieWonT-12T-60T-18---T-13T-66
Lorie KaneT-312ndT-7T-3T-52T-27T-70
Michelle Wie---------T-52---------
Anna Nordqvist---------------------
Yani Tseng---------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Cristie Kerr
Darkhorse - Hee Young Park
Last week's Pick to Win (Song g-Hee Kim) - Finished tied for 8th
Last week's Darkhorse (Jee Young Lee) - Finished tied for 6th
The LPGA Tour heads to New Jersey this week for the ShopRite LPGA Classic, the final tune-up for the second major of the year, the LPGA Championship. This is the first time this tournament is being played since 2006. Despite being played so close to a major, this event does not take a back seat in star power, as 12 of the top 13 players in the world rankings are scheduled to compete, including money leader and three-time winner in 2010, Ai Miyazato.

The tournament gets a boost with the return of Paula Creamer. In the first event of the season, Creamer lasted just one round as she continued to battle an injured thumb that she first hurt last year. Creamer finally had surgery a few weeks later and this will be her first start since that surgery.

Alexis Thompson is making her professional debut this week. Thompson, who is playing on a sponsor's invitation, was a member of the victorious United States Curtis Cup team last week. Thompson, who is only 15, won the U.S. Girls' Junior Amateur in 2008. Her older brother, Nicholas, is a member of the PGA Tour.

In 2006, Seon Hwa Lee fired an eight-under 63 in the final round to come from behind and earn her first LPGA Tour title at this event. She finished at 16-under-par 197 for a three-shot victory over Jeong Jang, Annika Sorenstam and Sherri Steinhauer at the Bay Course at Dolce Seaview Resort.

In 2005, Sorenstam eagled the final hole on the last day to cap a round of seven-under 64 and earn her third title at this event. Sorenstam completed the 54-hole event at 17-under-par 196, matching her tournament record from 1998. Juli Inkster finished in second place, five shots back.

Juli Inkster, a two-time winner of this tournament, has finished in the top-10 at this event 13 times. Betsy King has finished in the top-10 seven times, including three wins. King, who gained entrance into the LPGA Hall of Fame with her win at this event in 1995, was the only player in the field to post all three rounds in the 60s when she won this event in 2001.

There have been six wire-to-wire winners of this event, the last being Angela Stanford in 2003. There have been only two playoffs in tournament history, the last coming in 1992 when Anne-Marie Palli defeated Laura Davies on the first playoff hole.

Seaview Resort hosted this event the first two years of its existence followed by Greate Bay Resort and Country Club the next 10 years, before returning to Seaview in 1998.

The LPGA Tour moves to Pittsford, New York next week for the second major of the year, the LPGA Championship, where Anna Nordqvist will defend her title.

06/16 09:06:24 ET

As of June 16, 2010, at 09:22 AM ET