LPGA - CVS/pharmacy LPGA Challenge Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, September 24th through Sunday, September 27th
SITE: Blackhawk Country Club, Danville, California
COURSE ARCHITECT: Bruce Devlin and Robert Von Hagge (1982),
         Damian Pascuzzo (1999 - redesign)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,212
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 383 Yds10 - Par 3 178 Yds
2 - Par 4 346 Yds11 - Par 5 475 Yds
3 - Par 5 552 Yds12 - Par 3 155 Yds
4 - Par 3 184 Yds13 - Par 4 315 Yds
5 - Par 5 446 Yds14 - Par 4 390 Yds
6 - Par 4 318 Yds15 - Par 5 501 Yds
7 - Par 3 155 Yds16 - Par 3 210 Yds
8 - Par 4 360 Yds17 - Par 4 333 Yds
9 - Par 5 505 Yds18 - Par 4 406 Yds
37 3,249 Yds35 2,963 Yds
Annual:  14th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et),
  Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et),
  Sunday -- 7-9:30 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  In-Kyung Kim
Runner-Up:  Angela Stanford
Tournament Record:  266 (Christina Kim, 2004)
54-Hole Record:  199 (Leta Lindley, 2004; Nicole Perrot, 2005)
36-Hole Record:  132 (Juli Inkster, 2004)
Course Record:  60 (Anna Acker-Macosko, 2004)
9-Hole Record:  28 (Sherri Steinhauer, 2005)
Total Purse:  $1,100,000
Shares:  1st Place - $165,000; 2nd Place - $100,458; 3rd Place - $72,875
2008 Finish
In-Kyung Kim278Silvia Cavalleri285
Angela Stanford281Brittany Lang285
Yani Tseng282Kristy McPherson285
Lorena Ochoa284Mikaela Parmlid286
Karen Stupples285Wendy Ward286
Past CVS/pharmacy LPGA Challenge Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008In-Kyung Kim (278) -- Angela Stanford
2007*Suzann Pettersen (277) -- Lorena Ochoa
2006Karrie Webb (273) -- Annika Sorenstam
2005Nicole Perrot (270) -- Hee-Won Han
2004Christina Kim (266) -- Karrie Webb
2003Helen Alfredsson (275) -- Grace Park, Jung Yeon Lee, Pat Hurst,
Rachel Teske, Se Ri Pak
2002Cristie Kerr (280) -- Hee-Won Han
2001#Se Ri Pak (208) -- Laura Diaz
2000Juli Inkster (275) -- Brandie Burton
1999Juli Inkster (280) -- Sherri Steinhauer
1998Donna Andrews (278) -- Carin Koch
1997*Annika Sorenstam (285) -- Pamela Kometani
1996*Kelly Robbins (273) -- Val Skinner

* - Won in Playoff

# - Weather Shortened

Note:Formerly called Twelve Bridges LPGA Classic (1996),
Longs Drugs Challenge (1997-2008).

Top Contenders in the Field
In-Kyung Kim------------------------T-8Won
Angela Stanford------81stT-45---T-1669thmcT-392nd
Yani Tseng---------------------------3rd
Lorena Ochoa------------T-7T-55mcT-42nd4th
Karen StupplesmcmcmcT-50T-35---wdmcT-11T-5
Kristy McPherson------------------------T-33T-5
Brittany Lang---------------------T-13mcT-5
Silvia Cavalleri---------T-29mcmc---mc---T-5
Pat Hurst---T-28T-9T-56T-2T-55T-19T-13T-23T-13
Suzann Pettersen------------T-11------T-39WonT-19
Paula Creamer---------------------T-16T-11T-19
Juli InksterWonWonT-51T-8T-143rdT-11T-423rdT-23
Maria HjorthT-21T-17T-32T-15T-48mcmc8thT-8T-23
Stacy Prammanasudh---------------T-25T-38T-4T-17T-32
Brittany Lincicome------------------T-57mcT-17T-37
Morgan Pressel---------------------3rdT-60T-47
Helen Alfredsson------T-9T-15WonmcT-11------T-57
Christina Kim------------T-70WonT-17T-36T-23T-67
Lorie Kane---mc------T-19T-55T-52T-10T-4mc
Seon Hwa Lee---------------------T-39T-11mc
Karrie Webb------------T-72ndT-7Won7th---
Se Ri Pak---T-40WonT-8T-2------T-50T-11---
Jiyai Shin------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Jiyai Shin
Darkhorse - Sophie Gustafson
Last Week's Pick to Win (Angela Stanford) - Finished 11th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Song g-Hee Kim) - Finished tied for 8th
The LPGA Tour travels to California this week for the 14th annual CVS/pharmacy LPGA Challenge, as eight of the top-nine players in the world are scheduled to compete, including world No. 1 Lorena Ochoa. Money leader and world No. 2 Jiyai Shin is also in the field. Shin is the only three-time winner on tour this year and leads the money list by more than $250,000 over Ai Miyazato. Ochoa is the only other two-time winner this year, but has not won since April. She is currently 11th on the money list.

Last year, In-Kyung Kim fired rounds of 67-69-69-73 to win this event for her first LPGA Tour victory. She finished the tournament at 10-under-par 278 for a three-stroke win over Angela Stanford. Kim won for the second time this year at the LPGA State Farm Classic.

In 2005, Nicole Perrot of Chile birdied two holes late on her back nine in the final round to overtake Hee-Won Han and win this event. She shot an even-par 71 and finished at 14-under-par 270 to win by a stroke at The Ridge Golf Course. Perrot, who led by three heading into the final round, tied the 54- hole record of 199 set by Leta Lindley in 2004.

In 2004, Christina Kim broke into the winner's circle, as she clipped Karrie Webb by one shot. Her winning total of 266 smashed the tournament record of 273 set back in 1996 by Kelly Robbins and Val Skinner. Anna Acker-Macosko made her own history on the final day, as she carded an 11-under-par round of 60 to finish tied for fifth. Acker-Macosko birdied her first two holes, then tallied three birdies in her final four holes on the front nine for a 31. She birdied her first two on the back side, then four more in a row from the 13th to get to 11-under par for the round. At the 17th, Acker-Macosko left her 25-foot birdie putt short. She had a 30-foot putt at the last to become the second player in LPGA Tour history to shoot the magical 59, but the putt was too far right and instead she tapped in for a par and 60.

When Helen Alfredsson won this event in 2003, it was her first victory since the 1998 Welch's/Circle K Championship. When Cristie Kerr won this event in 2002, she became a first-time winner on the LPGA Tour and the first at this event, as she edged out Hee-Won Han by one shot.

The first seven years of the event were held at Twelve Bridges Golf Club, while the 2003 tournament moved to Lincoln Hills Club. The 2004 and 2005 events were held at The Ridge Golf Club. In 2006, the tournament moved to Blackhawk Country Club in Danville.

Juli Inkster, the only two-time winner and back-to-back champion of this event, finished tied for 23rd last year. Inkster has made the cut in 12 of 13 appearances with nine top-15 results and $440,308 in earnings. When Inkster won in 2000, she posted the largest margin of victory of five over Brandie Burton.

There have been three playoffs in event history, with the first two coming in the first two years of the event's existence. Kerr and Se Ri Pak are the only wire-to-wire champions of this event - Kerr in 2002 and Pak in 2001.

Natalie Gulbis became the youngest player to Monday qualify for an LPGA tournament at this event back in 1997 at the age of 14. Gulbis missed the cut that year with rounds of 81-84. Gulbis' mark stood for five years, until Michelle Wie at the age of 12 qualified for the 2002 Takefuji Classic.

The LPGA Tour travels to Alabama next week for the Navistar LPGA Classic, where Ochoa captured the title in 2008.

09/22 17:12:03 ET

As of September 22, 2009, at 05:12 PM ET