LPGA - J Golf Phoenix LPGA International Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, March 26th through Sunday, March 29th
SITE: Papago Golf Course, Phoenix, Arizona
COURSE ARCHITECT: William Francis (Billy) Bell (1963),
         Jack Snyder (redesign, 1977), Billy Fuller (redesign, 2008)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,711
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 544 yds10 - Par 5 525 yds
2 - Par 4 355 yds11 - Par 3 158 yds
3 - Par 4 431 yds12 - Par 4 326 yds
4 - Par 3 195 yds13 - Par 4 409 yds
5 - Par 4 383 yds14 - Par 4 398 yds
6 - Par 4 403 yds15 - Par 5 513 yds
7 - Par 4 385 yds16 - Par 4 421 yds
8 - Par 3 160 yds17 - Par 3 219 yds
9 - Par 5 475 yds18 - Par 4 411 yds
36 3,331 yds36 3,380 yds
Annual:  30th
Television:  Golf Channel -- Thursday/Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et),
  Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  Sunday -- 7-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Lorena Ochoa
Runner-Up:  Jee Young Lee
Tournament Record:  261 (Annika Sorenstam, 2001)
54-Hole Record:  193 (Annika Sorenstam, 2001)
36-Hole Record:  124 (Annika Sorenstam, 2001)
18-Hole Record:  59 (Annika Sorenstam, 2001 - Moon Valley Country Club)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $225,000; 2nd Place - $136,988; 3rd Place - $99,375
2008 Finish
Lorena Ochoa266Brittany Lang276
Jee Young Lee273Maria Hjorth276
Minea Blomqvist274Christina Kim276
Eun-Hee Ji275Five players at277
Angela Stanford275
Past J Golf Phoenix LPGA International Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008Lorena Ochoa (266) -- Jee Young Lee
2007Lorena Ochoa (270) -- Suzann Pettersen
2006Juli Inkster (273) -- Sarah Lee
2005*Annika Sorenstam (277) -- Lorena Ochoa
2004Annika Sorenstam (270) -- Cristie Kerr
2003Se Ri Pak (265) -- Grace Park
2002*Rachel Teske (281) -- Annika Sorenstam
2001Annika Sorenstam (261) -- Se Ri Pak
2000Charlotta Sorenstam (276) -- Karrie Webb
1999Karrie Webb (274) -- Lorie Kane
1998*Liselotte Neumann (279) -- Rosie Jones
1997*Laura Davies (277) -- Kelly Robbins
1996Laura Davies (284) -- Kristal Parker
1995Laura Davies (280) -- Beth Daniel
1994Laura Davies (277) -- Beth Daniel, Elaine Crosby
1993Patty Sheehan (275) -- Dawn Coe-Jones, Kris Tschetter
1992Danielle Ammaccapane (279) -- Kristi Albers
1991Danielle Ammaccapane (283) -- Meg Mallon, Barb Munkowsky
1990Pat Bradley (280) -- Ayako Okamoto
1989Allison Finney (282) -- Beth Daniel
1988Ok-Hee Ku (281) -- Dottie Pepper, Ayako Okamoto
1987Pat Bradley (286) -- Chris Johnson
1986Mary Beth Zimmerman (278) -- Donna Caponi, Cathy Kratzert
1985*Betsy King (280) -- Patty Sheehan
1984Chris Johnson (276) -- Lauri Peterson
1983#Anne-Marie Palli (205) -- Lynn Adams
1982*Beth Daniel (278) -- Carole Jo Callison
1981Patty Hayes (277) -- Sandra Palmer
1980Jan Stephenson (275) -- M.J. Smith

* - Won in Playoff

# - Rain Shortened

Note:Formerly called Sun City Classic (1980-81), American Express Sun City
Classic (1982), Samaritan Turquoise Classic (1983-85), Standard Register Turquoise Classic (1986-90), Standard Register PING (1991-2001), PING Banner Health (2002), Safeway PING (2003), Safeway International (2004-08).

Top Contenders in the Field
Lorena Ochoa---------6thT-32ndT-24WonWon
Jee Young Lee------------------T-697th2nd
Minea Blomqvist---------------------mc3rd
Angela Stanford---mcT-32T-20T-21mcT-29mcT-4
Lindsey Wright---------------mcmcmcT-9
Yani Tseng------------------------14th
Juli InkstermcT-26T-6mcT-21T-3WonT-64T-15
Suzann Pettersen---------T-26------T-242ndT-22
Hee-Won Han------T-24T-3mcT-20T-12T-11T-22
Grace ParkmcmcT-182ndT-3wdmcT-16T-29
Cristie KerrT-59T-33T-3T-92ndT-18T-4mcT-29
Natalie Gulbis------T-57mcT-39T-8T-24mcT-29
Laura DiazmcT-19T-32T-20---T-8mcT-3T-39
Paula Creamer---------------T-26T-7T-11T-46
Jane Park------------------------T-46
Mi Hyun KimT-6T-19T-3T-1162ndT-49T-44T-13T-60
Pat HurstT-64T-7mcmcT-30T-43mcT-32T-62
Stacy Prammanasudh---------T-11T-50T-66T-9T-42T-67
R. HetheringtonT-18T-7WonT-40T-34T-68T-12T-8mc
Morgan Pressel------------------T-60T-13mc
Sarah Lee---------T-46T-16mc2ndT-16mc
Helen AlfredssonT-59mcT-51T-36mcT-40mcT-23mc
Seon Hwa Lee------------------T-38T-51mc
Karrie Webb2ndT-7T-42T-15T-39T-26T-24mcmc
Se Ri PakT-592ndT-18WonT-5wdmcmcmc
Momoko Ueda------------------------mc
Michelle Wie------------T-19T-12---------
Jiyai Shin---------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Lorena Ochoa
Darkhorse - Eun-Hee Ji
Last Week's Pick to Win (Lorena Ochoa) - Finished tied for 2nd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Sun Young Yoo) - Finished tied for 12th
For the fifth year in a row, another amazing field will be assembled this week, as the LPGA moves into its fifth event of the season at the J Golf Phoenix International. The top-10 players and 79 of the top-80 players on the money list are scheduled to compete, including world No. 1 Lorena Ochoa, who is looking to win this event for the third consecutive season. In addition to Ochoa, six other past champions are in the field; Juli Inkster, Se Ri Pak, Rachel Hetherington, Karrie Webb, Liselotte Neumann and Laura Davies. A win by Ochoa would propel her to equal the feat by Davies and Annika Sorenstam as three-time winners of this event. Accomplishing a three-peat, Ochoa would be only the second player, after Davies, to win the tournament at least three straight times.

Last year, Ochoa fired a six-under 66 in the final round to repeat as champion. Ochoa finished the event at 22-under-par 266 for a seven-shot victory over Jee Young Lee. Ochoa became the fourth player to repeat as champion of this event, joining Danielle Ammaccapane (1991-92), Davies (1994-97) and Sorenstam (2004-05).

In 2006, LPGA Hall-of-Famer Juli Inkster fired a five-under 67 in the final round to roar from four strokes behind and win the title. Inkster, who won for the first time since the 2003 season, ended the event at 15-under-par 273. The win broke a 12-year stranglehold that foreigners had on the crown. The last American winner of this tournament before Inkster was Patty Sheehan in 1993.

Inkster's win in 2006 pushed her over the $10 million mark in career earnings, joining Sorenstam and Webb as the only players in LPGA Tour history to accomplish that feat. Ochoa became the fourth member of the $10 million club in 2007.

When Sorenstam captured this event in 2001 she set all sorts of records. The first that comes to mind is the 59 she carded in round two to become the fourth player in golf history and first by an LPGA competitor to break the 60 barrier. During the event, Sorenstam set or tied six LPGA marks: most birdies in a round (13), lowest nine-hole score (-8), lowest 18-hole score (-13), lowest 36-hole total (-20), lowest 54-hole mark (-23) and lowest 72-hole total (-27). In the mid-90s, Davies was the queen of the desert, as she captured this event four straight years (1994-97).

After five seasons at Superstition Mountain Golf and Country Club, the tournament moves to Papago Golf Course in Phoenix this year. It hosted the U.S. Amateur Public Links Championship in 1971, and also has been home to Phoenix Open Qualifying. The course was closed most of 2008 due to a $5.8 million renovation. Moon Valley Country Club hosted this tournament from 1987-1999 and 2001-03. The event was held at Legacy Golf Resort in 2000 due to renovations to Moon Valley, while Arizona Biltmore Country Club was the tournament host from 1983-86 and Hillcrest Golf Club held the event the first three years of its existence (1980-82).

This event will serve as the final tune-up for the year's first major in golf, the Kraft Nabisco Championship held next week in California, where Ochoa captured her second major title last year.

03/24 13:36:35 ET

As of March 24, 2009, at 01:36 PM ET