LPGA - SBS Open at Turtle Bay Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, February 12th through Saturday, February 14th
SITE: Turtle Bay Resort (Palmer Course), Kahuku, Oahu, Hawaii
COURSE ARCHITECT: Arnold Palmer and Ed Seay (1993)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,582
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 383 Yds10 - Par 4 391 Yds
2 - Par 4 376 Yds11 - Par 4 396 Yds
3 - Par 5 452 Yds12 - Par 5 493 Yds
4 - Par 3 180 Yds13 - Par 3 175 Yds
5 - Par 4 389 Yds14 - Par 4 375 Yds
6 - Par 4 405 Yds15 - Par 3 184 Yds
7 - Par 4 394 Yds16 - Par 4 378 Yds
8 - Par 3 155 Yds17 - Par 4 406 Yds
9 - Par 5 511 Yds18 - Par 5 539 Yds
36 3,245 Yds36 3,337 Yds
Annual:  5th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et),
  Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Annika Sorenstam (Not Defending)
Runner-Up:  Laura Diaz, Jane Park, Russy Gulyanamitta
Tournament Record:  206 (Joo Mi Kim, Soo Young Moon, Lorena Ochoa, 2006;
  Annika Sorenstam, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  135 (Jennifer Rosales, 2005; Sung Ah Yim, Joo Mi Kim,
  Becky Iverson, 2006)
Course Record:  65 (Joo Mi Kim, Lorena Ochoa, 2006; Angela Park, 2008)
Total Purse:  $1,200,000
Shares:  1st Place - $180,000; 2nd Place - $110,288; 3rd Place - $79,500
2008 Finish
Annika Sorenstam206Momoko Ueda209
Laura Diaz208Ji-Yai Shin210
Jane Park208Yani Tseng211
Russy Gulyanamitta208In-Kyung Kim211
Angela Park209Cristie Kerr211
Erica Blasberg211
Past SBS Open at Turtle Bay Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008Annika Sorenstam (206) -- Laura Diaz, Jane Park, Russy Gulyanamitta
2007Paula Creamer (207) -- Julieta Granada
2006*Joo Mi Kim (206) -- Soo Young Moon, Lorena Ochoa
2005Jennifer Rosales (208) -- Cristie Kerr, Michelle Wie (a)

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Laura Diazmc---T-40T-2
Russy Gulyanamitta---------T-2
Jane Park---------T-2
Angela Park------T-33T-5
Momoko Ueda---------T-5
Jiyai Shin------T-407th
Cristie KerrT-2T-8mcT-8
Yani Tseng---------T-8
Paula CreamerT-40T-13WonT-12
Hee-Won HanT-5T-227thT-12
Angela StanfordT-14T-59T-33T-16
Suzann Pettersen---T-44mcT-16
Pat HurstT-14T-13T-11T-25
Meena LeeT-69T-26mcT-25
Stacy Prammanasudh---T-13T-8T-32
Julieta Granada---T-132ndT-38
Morgan Pressel---T-5T-4T-51
Natalie GulbisT-32T-5T-14T-51
Jee Young Lee---T-22T-25T-68
Dorothy DelasinT-14mcT-4075th
Janice MoodiemcT-59T-4mc
Brittany LincicomeT-40T-36T-33mc
Ai Miyazato---T-48mcmc
Jennifer RosalesWonwdmcmc
Joo Mi KimmcWonmc---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Jiyai Shin
Darkhorse - Eun-Hee Ji
Last Week's Pick to Win - LPGA Q-School (Michelle Wie) - Finished tied for 7th
Last Week's Darkhorse - LPGA Q-School (Miki Saiki) - Finished tied for 60th
The LPGA Tour returns for the first event of the 2009 season in Hawaii with the SBS Open at Turtle Bay. Six of the top-eight players in the world rankings will be in action this week - McDonald's LPGA Championship winner Yani Tseng (2), 2007 champion Paula Creamer (3), Suzann Pettersen (4), Jiyai Shin (5) and Cristie Kerr (7). Annika Sorenstam, the 2008 champion, will not be on hand to defend her title, as she retired from professional golf at the end of last season.

Michelle Wie will be a rookie on the LPGA Tour in 2009. Wie earned her LPGA Tour card by finishing in a tie for seventh at the LPGA Tour Qualifying Tournament in December. This week's event will mark her debut as a member of the LPGA Tour and will take place in her home state of Hawaii.

Last year, Sorenstam won her first event in more than a year, as she captured the Aloha state tournament. It was her first victory since the 2006 State Farm Classic. Birdies on 16 and 17 in the final round put away her win. Sorenstam closed with a three-under 69 to finish two clear of Laura Diaz, Jane Park and Russy Gulyanamitta at 10-under-par 206. The victory was Sorenstam's 70th LPGA Tour title of her career. She ran her record to 19-5 when holding at least a share of the 36-hole lead in 54-hole tournaments. Angela Park tied the course record with a 65 in the second round.

In 2007, Creamer returned to the winner's circle on the LPGA Tour when she holed a long birdie putt on the 17th hole in the final round to capture the SBS Open. Creamer had not won since two victories in her 2005 LPGA Tour Rookie of the Year season. The birdie at 17 helped Creamer to her second straight round of two-under 70 following an opening-round 67. She finished at nine- under-par 207, which was good enough for a one-stroke victory over Julieta Granada.

Joo Mi Kim birdied the second playoff hole in 2006 to win her first LPGA Tour title. Kim and Lorena Ochoa shot course-record 65s in the second round.

In 2005, Jennifer Rosales carded a one-over 73 in the final round, but it was enough to hold on for the win at the inaugural SBS Open at Turtle Bay. Rosales finished the event at eight-under-par 208, two strokes clear of Kerr and Wie.

The LPGA Tour travels to Thailand in two weeks for the Honda LPGA Thailand, where Pettersen captured the event the last time it was played, back in October of 2007.

02/10 13:19:01 ET

As of February 10, 2009, at 01:19 PM ET