Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, October 12th through Sunday, October 14th
SITE: Rock Barn Golf Club & Spa (Jones Course), Conover, North Carolina
COURSE ARCHITECT: Robert Trent Jones Jr. (2002)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,090
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 436 Yds10 - Par 4 431 Yds
2 - Par 4 476 Yds11 - Par 4 451 Yds
3 - Par 3 187 Yds12 - Par 4 375 Yds
4 - Par 5 568 Yds13 - Par 4 433 Yds
5 - Par 4 415 Yds14 - Par 5 573 Yds
6 - Par 4 451 Yds15 - Par 3 150 Yds
7 - Par 5 507 Yds16 - Par 4 389 Yds
8 - Par 4 335 Yds17 - Par 3 190 Yds
9 - Par 3 197 Yds18 - Par 5 526 Yds
36 3,572 Yds36 3,518 Yds
Annual:  10th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday/Sunday -- 1:30-4 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Mark Wiebe
Runner-Up:  James Mason
Tournament Record:  197 (Mark Wiebe, James Mason, 2011)
36-Hole Record:  129 (R.W. Eaks, Tom Jenkins, 2008)
Course Record:  61 (R.W. Eaks, 2008; Gary Hallberg, 2010)
Total Purse:  $1,600,000
Shares:  1st Place - $240,000; 2nd Place - $140,800; 3rd Place - $115,200
2011 Finish
Mark Wiebe *197Loren Roberts199
James Mason197Jeff Sluman200
Chip Beck198Seven players at201
Fred Funk198
Nick Price199

* - Won in Playoff

Past Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011*Mark Wiebe (197) -- James Mason
2010Gary Hallberg (198) -- Fred Couples
2009Jay Haas (198) -- Andy Bean
2008R.W. Eaks (200) -- Tom Jenkins, Tom Kite
2007R.W. Eaks (199) -- Jay Haas, Rod Spittle
2006*Andy Bean (201) -- R.W. Eaks
2005Jay Haas (200) -- Dana Quigley
2004Doug Tewell (202) -- Bruce Fleisher
2003Craig Stadler (201) -- Larry Nelson

* - Won in Playoff

NOTE:Formerly called Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn (2003-09);
Ensure Classic at Rock Barn (2010).

Top Contenders in the Field
Mark Wiebe---------------T-420thT-29Won
James MasonT-25T-59T-30T-13T-44---T-12T-622nd
Chip Beck---------3rdT-48T-41T-36T-7T-3
Fred Funk------------T-25T-10T-12T-9T-3
Loren Roberts------3rd---T-21T-15------T-5
Bob Tway------------------T-64thT-8
David EgerT-29T-49T-36T-26T-10T-31T-12T-29T-8
Kenny Perry------------------------T-8
Tom KiteT-7------T-13T-48T-2T-31T-9T-15
David Frost------------------T-9T-14T-15
Jay Don Blake------------------T-54T-25T-15
Mark Calcavecchia------------------------T-15
John Cook------------------T-21---T-25
Tom Jenkins4thT-14T-59T-39T-31T-2T-12T-9T-31
Craig StadlerWonT-25T-4T-13T-21---T-21---T-31
Roger Chapman------------------------T-31
Gary Hallberg---------------T-48T-63WonT-52
Bernhard Langer---------------------3rd---
Jay Haas------WonT-10T-2T-10WonT-17---
Michael Allen---------------------------
Tom Lehman---------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Tom Lehman
Darkhorse - Andrew Magee
Last Week's Pick to Win (David Frost) - Finished tied for 74th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Mark O'Meara) - Finished tied for 10th
NOTES:The Champions Tour travels to North Carolina this week for the Greater
Hickory Classic at Rock Barn. The top four players on the money list are in the field - Bernhard Langer, Michael Allen, Tom Lehman and Mark Calcavecchia.

Langer currently leads the money list by more than $240,000 over Allen. Langer picked up his second victory of the season last week at the SAS Championship. Langer also leads the Charles Schwab Cup standings by 69 points over Lehman. He also leads the Champions Tour in top-10 finishes with 14, three more than Allen.

Last year, Mark Wiebe two-putted for par on the third playoff hole to beat James Mason. Wiebe and Mason both closed with 7-under 65s to end at 19-under-par 197. The win for Wiebe was his third on the Champions Tour. Both players established a new tournament scoring record at 197.

In 2010, Gary Hallberg matched the course record with an 11-under 61 in the final round, beating Fred Couples by a shot to win his first Champions Tour title. Hallberg, a three-time winner on the PGA Tour, finished 54 holes at Rock Barn at 18-under 198. His 61 matched the lowest final-round score by a winner in Champions Tour history, which was previously done by Rocky Thompson (1994 GTE Suncoast Classic) and Loren Roberts (2006 MasterCard Championship at Hualalai). Hallberg, Ron Streck, Keith Fergus, Lehman and Kirk Triplett are the only five players who have won on the PGA Tour, Nationwide Tour and Champions Tour.

In 2009, Jay Haas birdied five of his last six holes and fired a 7-under 65 in the final round to win this event for the second time. Haas' late rally gave him a two-shot victory over Andy Bean and Russ Cochran. He also won here in 2005. Haas fired rounds of 62-71-65 and held at least a share of the lead after every round.

In 2008, R.W. Eaks fired a course-record 61 in the first round and went on to successfully defend his title. He finished at 16-under 200 and won by four shots over Tom Kite and Tom Jenkins.

Eaks fired rounds of 63-66-70 to hold off a charge by Haas to win in 2007. Eaks went wire-to-wire for the win, squeezing three rounds of golf into just two days after the first round was rained out on Friday. He finished at 17-under 199 for a two-shot win over Haas.

In 2006, Andy Bean birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Eaks and earn his first Champions Tour victory. Bean, who went wire-to-wire for the victory, withstood a late charge from Eaks, who birdied six of his last seven holes in regulation and forced Bean to birdie the last to force the sudden-death playoff. The victory was Bean's first professional win since the 1987 Kapalua International on the PGA Tour.

Haas picked up his maiden Champions Tour title in 2005 with a two-stroke victory. Haas fired a 7-under 65 in the final round to end the tournament at 16-under-par 200, two strokes better than second-round leader Dana Quigley. It was Haas' first victory since the 1993 H.E.B. Texas Open on the PGA Tour.

The Champions Tour heads to Texas in two weeks for the AT&T Championship in San Antonio, where Fred Couples captured the 2011 title.

10/09 18:21:24 ET

As of October 9, 2012, at 06:21 PM ET