Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - 3M Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, August 6th through Sunday, August 8th
SITE: TPC of the Twin Cities, Blaine, Minnesota
COURSE ARCHITECT: Arnold Palmer (2000), Tom Lehman (Consultant)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,114
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 426 Yds10 - Par 4 379 Yds
2 - Par 4 388 Yds11 - Par 4 402 Yds
3 - Par 5 546 Yds12 - Par 5 593 Yds
4 - Par 3 177 Yds13 - Par 3 209 Yds
5 - Par 4 418 Yds14 - Par 4 423 Yds
6 - Par 5 571 Yds15 - Par 4 451 Yds
7 - Par 4 318 Yds16 - Par 4 387 Yds
8 - Par 3 204 Yds17 - Par 3 184 Yds
9 - Par 4 456 Yds18 - Par 5 582 Yds
36 3,504 Yds36 3,610 Yds
Annual:  18th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 12-1:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 3-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Bernhard Langer
Runner-Up:  Andy Bean
Tournament Record:  193 (R.W. Eaks, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  128 (R.W. Eaks, 2008)
Course Record:  62 (Dana Quigley, 2008)
Total Purse:  $1,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $262,500; 2nd Place - $154,000; 3rd Place - $126,000
2009 Finish
Bernhard Langer200Steve Thomas204
Andy Bean201Dan Forsman205
Scott Hoch202Larry Mize205
Tom Kite203Mark O'Meara205
Nick Price204Gene Jones206
Past 3M Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2009Bernhard Langer (200) -- Andy Bean
2008R.W. Eaks (193) -- Gary Hallberg, Bernhard Langer
2007D.A. Weibring (198) -- Jay Haas
2006David Edwards (204) -- Brad Bryant, Craig Stadler
2005Tom Purtzer (201) -- Lonnie Nielsen, Craig Stadler
2004Tom Kite (203) -- Craig Stadler
2003Wayne Levi (205) -- Morris Hatalsky, Gil Morgan
2002Hale Irwin (204) -- Hubert Green
2001Bruce Lietzke (207) -- Doug Tewell
2000Ed Dougherty (197) -- Hale Irwin, Gil Morgan
1999Hale Irwin (201) -- Jim Dent, Dale Douglass
1998*#Leonard Thompson (134) -- Isao Aoki
1997Hale Irwin (199) -- Lee Trevino
1996Vicente Fernandez (205) -- Bruce Crampton, J.C. Snead
1995Raymond Floyd (201) -- Graham Marsh
1994Dave Stockton (203) -- Jim Albus
1993Chi Chi Rodriguez (201) -- Jim Colbert, Bob Murphy

* - Won in Playoff

# - Rain Shortened

Note:Formerly called Burnet Senior Classic (1993-97), Coldwell Banker
Burnet Classic (1998-2000).

Top Contenders in the Field
Bernhard Langer------------------------T-2Won
Andy Bean------------T-10T-12T-16T-36T-572nd
Tom Kite---T-10T-28T-22WonT-5T-4T-62T-64th
Nick Price---------------------------T-5
Dan Forsman---------------------------T-7
Larry Mize---------------------------T-7
Mark O'Meara---------------------------T-7
Gene Jones------------------------4th10th
Ronnie Black------------------------T-15T-11
John Cook------------------------T-30T-13
Jay Haas---------------------2nd---T-13
Dana QuigleyT-25T-14T-58T-10T-13T-12T-55T-57T-9T-16
Jeff Sluman------------------------T-9T-16
Bruce Fleisher---T-3T-7T-40T-44T-25T-2665thT-39T-16
R.W. Eaks------T-11------T-25T-40T-26WonT-22
Mike Goodes---------------------T-40T-6T-22
Morris Hatalsky---------T-2T-13T-8T-26T-40T-15T-22
Keith Fergus---------------T-25T-16T-26T-24T-31
Gil MorganT-2T-3wdT-2T-13T-5T-4T-16T-24T-34
John Harris------T-32T-4031stT-36T-26T-3T-39T-34
Fred Funk---------------------------T-34
Joey Sindelar------------------------T-15T-42
Bruce Lietzke---WonT-28T-16T-6T-8T-20T-16---T-42
Bobby Wadkins---T-7T-28wdT-13T-25T-52T-8T-47T-46
Fulton Allem------------------------T-47T-48
Hale IrwinT-2T-3WonT-40T-22T-25T-10T-4712thT-51
Tom Purtzer---------T-10T-3WonT-6T-30T-24T-54
Wayne Levi------T-22WonT-22T-25T-10T-47T-62T-54
Scott Simpson------------------T-26T-40T-36T-58
D.A. Weibring---------T-10---T-8T-6WonT-13---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - John Cook
Darkhorse - Peter Senior
Last Week's Pick to Win (Tom Lehman) - Finished tied for 12th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Fred Funk) - Finished tied for 43rd
NOTES:The Champions Tour visits Minnesota this week for the 3M Championship.
Four of the top five players on the money list will be teeing it up, led by four-time 2010 winner and money leader Bernhard Langer, who is the defending champion. The only top-five player not in the field is three-time 2010 winner Fred Couples. Langer will be looking for his third straight victory this week. He is coming off back-to-back major championship wins at the Senior British Open and the U.S. Open. Langer currently leads the money list by $103,020 over Couples.

Last year, Langer eagled the 18th hole in the final round to win this event by a shot, picking up his fourth victory of the season. Langer, the two-time Masters champion who has found tremendous success on the Champions Tour, finished three rounds at the TPC Twin Cities at 16-under 200. He chipped in from 20 feet at the 18th hole, building a two-shot lead that withstood Andy Bean's birdie at No. 18 in the final group.

Langer became the first player on the Champions Tour to win an event with an eagle on the final hole since Loren Roberts at the 2006 Turtle Bay Championship.

In 2008, R.W. Eaks fired a seven-under 65 in the final round to cruise to a six-shot win over Langer and Gary Hallberg. Eaks claimed his third Champions Tour victory in near-record fashion, finishing three sparkling rounds at TPC Twin Cities with a 23-under-par 193. Only three players have ever scored lower in a Champions Tour event.

In 2006, David Edwards closed with a five-under 67 in the final round to win by two strokes. Edwards completed his first Champions Tour win at 12-under-par 204. Edwards, who was a Champions Tour rookie in 2006, won an official event for the first time since the last of his four PGA Tour wins at the 1993 Heritage Golf Classic.

Raymond Floyd is the only player to claim a PGA Tour and a Champions Tour event in the Twin Cities area. Floyd won the 1995 3M Championship (then called Burnet Senior Classic) 30 years after winning the second of his 22 PGA Tour titles at the 1965 St. Paul Open at Keller Golf Club.

Bunker Hills Golf Club hosted this event from 1993-2000, however, the Tournament Players Club of the Twin Cities took over as the host venue in 2001. Native Minnesotan Tom Lehman collaborated with Arnold Palmer on the design of the TPC of the Twin Cities, the 20th club within the PGA Tour's prestigious Tournament Players Club Network.

When Bruce Lietzke won in 2001, it came just 24 days after he turned 50 and made him the youngest winner in event history. There has been only one playoff in the event's history, coming in 1998, when Leonard Thompson defeated Isao Aoki in a rain-shortened tournament.

The Champions Tour travels to Oregon in two weeks for the fourth major championship of the year, the JELD-WEN Tradition, where Mike Reid will defend his title.

08/03 16:16:16 ET

As of August 3, 2010, at 04:16 PM ET