PGA Tour
PGA - Quail Hollow Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, April 30th through Sunday, May 3rd
SITE: Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, North Carolina
COURSE ARCHITECT: George Cobb (1961), Arnold Palmer (1986),
         Tom Fazio (redesign - 1997, 2003)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,442
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 411 Yds10 - Par 5 591 Yds
2 - Par 3 178 Yds11 - Par 4 421 Yds
3 - Par 4 452 Yds12 - Par 4 456 Yds
4 - Par 4 458 Yds13 - Par 3 203 Yds
5 - Par 5 570 Yds14 - Par 4 345 Yds
6 - Par 3 250 Yds15 - Par 5 566 Yds
7 - Par 5 532 Yds16 - Par 4 480 Yds
8 - Par 4 343 Yds17 - Par 3 217 Yds
9 - Par 4 491 Yds18 - Par 4 478 Yds
36 3,685 Yds36 3,757 Yds
Annual:  7th
  Television - Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  Thursday/Friday -- 8:30-11:30 p.m. (et) - replay,
  Saturday/Sunday -- 1-2:30 p.m. (et),
  CBS - Saturday/Sunday -- 3-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Anthony Kim
Runner-Up:  Ben Curtis
Tournament Record:  272 (Anthony Kim, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  203 (Anthony Kim, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  134 (Bo Van Pelt, 2006)
Course Record:  64 (Kirk Triplett, 2004; Bo Van Pelt, 2006;
  Rory Sabbatini, 2007)
Total Purse:  $6,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $1,170,000; 2nd Place - $702,000; 3rd Place - $442,000
2008 Finish
Anthony Kim272Heath Slocum280
Ben Curtis277Jim Furyk281
Jason Bohn278Stewart Cink282
Robert Allenby279Fred Couples282
Dudley Hart280Rod Pampling282
Adam Scott282
Past Quail Hollow Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008Anthony Kim (272) -- Ben Curtis
2007Tiger Woods (275) -- Steve Stricker
2006*Jim Furyk (276) -- Trevor Immelman
2005*Vijay Singh (276) -- Jim Furyk, Sergio Garcia
2004*Joey Sindelar (277) -- Arron Oberholser
2003David Toms (278) -- Vijay Singh, Robert Gamez, Brent Geiberger

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Wachovia Championship (2003-08).

Top Contenders in the Field
Anthony Kim------------T-5Won
Ben Curtis---T-35T-56mcT-432nd
Jason Bohn---T-32mcT-31T-523rd
Robert Allenby---T-50mc---T-344th
Jim Furykmc---T-2Wonmc7th
Stewart CinkT-40mc---T-26T-5T-8
Adam Scott------T-163rdT-24T-8
Phil Mickelson---T-5T-7T-35T-3T-12
Vijay SinghT-2T-10WonT-38T-7T-17
J.B. Holmes---------wdT-34T-17
David TomsWonmcmc------T-17
Geoff Ogilvy---T-10T-22T-10T-24T-22
Charles Howell IIIT-7mcT-22T-47T-52T-25
Zach Johnson---mcmcmc84thT-25
Sergio Garcia---T-61T-2T-38T-14T-34
Aaron Baddeley---mcT-68mcT-43T-40
Andres Romero---------------T-40
Boo Weekley------------T-43T-49
Camilo Villegas---------mcT-43T-55
Rory SabbatiniT-40T-50mcT-52T-3T-67
Angel Cabrera---------------72nd
Trevor Immelmanmc------2ndT-14mc
Jerry KellymcT-66---T-31T-43mc
Stuart ApplebymcT-15mcT-52wdmc
Justin Rose------T-44T-47---mc
Tiger Woods---T-3T-11---Won---
Davis Love IIIT-29T-21mcT-14T-24---
Robert Karlsson------------T-24---
Padraig Harrington------T-75---T-43---
Sean O'Hair------T-64mcwd---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Tiger Woods
Darkhorse - Rory Sabbatini
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kenny Perry) - Finished tied for 59th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Todd Hamilton) - Finished tied for 51st
Quite a stellar field is assembled this week, as the PGA Tour returns to North Carolina for the seventh straight year and the Quail Hollow Championship, the final tune-up before next week's THE PLAYERS Championship. Ten of the top-14 players in the world rankings are expected to compete this week, including world No. 1 Tiger Woods, who is playing for the first time since finishing tied for sixth at The Masters three weeks ago. Masters champion Angel Cabrera is also playing for the first time since capturing the green jacket, as is world No. 2 Phil Mickelson, who finished fifth at The Masters following a spectacular Sunday pairing with Woods. The purse increased $100,000 from last year to $6.5 million, with the winner receiving $1,170,000.

Looking for his first PGA Tour win, Anthony Kim never let up in the final round at the Quail Hollow Championship last year. He closed with a three-under 69 to roll to a five-shot win over Ben Curtis, finishing his first victory at 16-under-par 272. The 22-year-old Kim was by far the youngest winner at this event. The previous five winners all had at least 11 years of experience on the PGA Tour. Kim also set the tournament records for margin of victory (five) and total score (272). The previous marks were two (David Toms in 2003 and Woods in 2007) and 275 (Woods in 2007). Kim went on to win the AT&T National in July last year for second PGA Tour victory and was a key member of the victorious United States team at The Ryder Cup.

In 2004, Joey Sindelar defeated Arron Oberholser in a playoff to win on the PGA Tour for the first time since the 1990 Hardee's Golf Classic. Sindelar's winless streak was 13 years and eight months. With his winners check of $1,008,000, Sindelar surpassed the $1 million mark in single-season earnings for the first time in his 21-year career.

Four of the six winners of this event have won major championships: Toms, Vijay Singh, Jim Furyk and Woods. Only Sindelar and Kim have not captured a major. Singh is the all-time money leader at this event with $1,937,453 in career earnings. Furyk is second with $1,876,400 and Woods is third with $1,586,000.

There have been playoffs three of the last five years at the Quail Hollow Championship. Sindelar defeated Oberholser in 2004, Singh defeated Furyk and Sergio Garcia in 2005 and Furyk defeated Trevor Immelman in 2006. The last time a PGA Tour event had three straight playoffs was in 1998-2000 at The Barclays.

Last year, the par-72 Quail Hollow Club was the 20th-most-difficult course on the PGA Tour with a scoring average of 72.791. The par-three 17th was the 16th-toughest hole on the PGA Tour last year, with a scoring average of 3.418.

The PGA Tour travels to Florida next week for the "fifth major," THE PLAYERS Championship, where Garcia will defend his title against the best field in golf.

04/28 16:16:22 ET

As of April 28, 2009, at 04:16 PM ET