PGA Tour
$5,600,000 Hyundai Tournament of Champions Field
Kapalua Resort (Plantation Course)
Par 73 - 7411 Yards
Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii
Jan 6 - Jan 9, 2012
Aaron Baddeley
Keegan Bradley
Michael Bradley
Jonathan Byrd
K.J. Choi
Ben Crane
Harrison Frazar
Bill Haas
Chris Kirk
Martin Laird
Bryce Molder
Kevin Na
Sean O'Hair
Scott Piercy
D.A. Points
Rory Sabbatini
Webb Simpson
Scott Stallings
Brendan Steele
Steve Stricker
David Toms
Jhonattan Vegas
Johnson Wagner
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Mark Wilson
Gary Woodland
As always, first up is Kapalua for the Hyundai Tournament of Champions. Stagedat the Plantation Course at Kapalua, the first event of the season is reservedfor winners from 2011 tournaments. Sadly for the opener, several high-profile winners from last year have elected to skip the trip. World No. 1 Luke Donald, Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Adam Scott and major winners Rory McIlroy, Charl Schwartzel and Darren Clarke each passed on the flight to the Aloha State. There is some star power in the field, despite the big absences. PGA Champion Keegan Bradley, Steve Stricker and FedExCup winner Bill Haas are heading to Kapalua. For the first time, the tournament starts Friday and ends Monday. Jonathan Byrd defeated Robert Garrigus in a playoff to win last year. Golf Channel will carry live action in primetime all week with an 8:00 p.m. (et) finishscheduled for Monday. (It should be over in time for the BCS NationalChampionship game.) In an interesting wrinkle, golf`s two pre-eminent analysts will work togethe rall week. Johnny Miller and Sir Nick Faldo will team up for the entire tournament as co-analysts. Next week is the first full-field event of 2012, the Sony Open in Hawaii. Mark Wilson picked up the first of two 2011 victories in Honolulu.