PGA Tour
$8,000,000 The Barclays Field
Plainfield Country Club
Par 71 - 6964 Yards
Edison, New Jersey
Aug 25 - Aug 27, 2011
Blake Adams
Robert Allenby
Stuart Appleby
Arjun Atwal
Aaron Baddeley
Ricky Barnes
Matt Bettencourt
Kris Blanks
Steven Bowditch
Keegan Bradley
Michael Bradley
Jonathan Byrd
Chad Campbell
Greg Chalmers
Kevin Chappell
K.J. Choi
Stewart Cink
Chris Couch
Ben Crane
Brian Davis
Jason Day
Brendon de Jonge
Chris DiMarco
Luke Donald
James Driscoll
Jason Dufner
Ernie Els
Steve Flesch
Rickie Fowler
Harrison Frazar
Jim Furyk
Tommy Gainey
Sergio Garcia
Robert Garrigus
Brian Gay
Tom Gillis
Lucas Glover
Retief Goosen
Paul Goydos
Bill Haas
Hunter Haas
Padraig Harrington
David Hearn
J.J. Henry
Tim Herron
Charley Hoffman
Charles Howell III
Ryuji Imada
Trevor Immelman
Freddie Jacobson
Brandt Jobe
Dustin Johnson
Zach Johnson
Robert Karlsson
Jerry Kelly
Anthony Kim
Chris Kirk
Matt Kuchar *
Martin Laird
Marc Leishman
Spencer Levin
Davis Love III
Bill Lunde
Hunter Mahan
Steve Marino
Troy Matteson
Billy Mayfair
Graeme McDowell
William McGirt
George McNeill
John Merrick
Phil Mickelson
Bryce Molder
Ryan Moore
Kevin Na
Sean O'Hair
Nick O'Hern
Joe Ogilvie
Geoff Ogilvy
Jeff Overton
Ryan Palmer
Rod Pampling
Pat Perez
Carl Pettersson
Scott Piercy
D.A. Points
Ian Poulter
Chez Reavie
John Rollins
Andres Romero
Justin Rose
Rory Sabbatini
Adam Scott
John Senden
Webb Simpson
Vijay Singh
Heath Slocum
Brandt Snedeker
Kevin Stadler
Scott Stallings
Kyle Stanley
Brendan Steele
Kevin Streelman
Steve Stricker
Chris Stroud
Vaughn Taylor
Josh Teater
Michael Thompson
David Toms
D.J. Trahan
Cameron Tringale
Bo Van Pelt
Jhonattan Vegas
Scott Verplank
Camilo Villegas
Johnson Wagner
Jimmy Walker
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Charlie Wi
Mark Wilson
Gary Woodland
Y.E. Yang
* - Defending Champion
After months of competing, the FedEx Cup playoffs finally begin this week in Edison at The Barclays. The first of the four-event series comprises the top 125 players in the points standings, with Nick Watney leading the way as the top points collector in 2011. The points are weighted five times as heavily for playoff events as they werefor regular season events. The points from the regular season carry over intothe postseason, but the fields are reduced from 125 to 100 to 70 to only 30for The Tour Championship. At The Tour Championship, the points are reset to give each player a fair chance to win the $10 million prize for capturing the FedEx Cup, although the higher ranked players will still have a better chance. This year`s Playoffs field will be bereft of the man who has won the title more than anybody else: Tiger Woods. Woods, who has won two of the four FedEx Cup titles, including the inaugural one in 2007, finished seven spots out after playing in only eight events. The other two winners of the FedEx Cup will play this week: 2010 winner Jim Furyk and 2008 champ Vijay Singh. Both players have fallen on hard timessomewhat this year, though, combining for zero victories. Defending champion Matt Kuchar is also without a win this season, but he still managed to finish higher on the points list (12) than any winless player on the PGA Tour in 2011. No player has successfully defended his title at this event since Ernie Els, who won in 1996-97 and will go for another win this week. The win helped Kuchar finish second to Furyk in the final standings, and, at No. 12 currently, he is all but guaranteed to advance to the Deutsche Bank Championship. All but two of the top 125 players are scheduled to play this year, with the lone exceptions being No. 21 Charl Schwartzel and No. 66 J.B. Holmes, who will miss the entire Playoffs after announcing he will undergo brain surgery on September 1. The surgery will keep Holmes out for three months, but he is expected to make a full recovery. The Barclays dates back to 1967, when it was the Westchester Classic and won by Jack Nicklaus in its inaugural running. Singh has won it more times than anyone with four victories dating from 1993 to 2008. Golf Channel and CBS will have television coverage of all four rounds. Next week, the top 100 points leaders will take part in the second postseason event, the Deutsche Bank Championship, which Charley Hoffman won by five strokes in 2010.