Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - National Qualifying Tournament Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Tuesday, November 13th through Friday, November 16th
SITE: TPC Eagle Trace, Coral Springs, Florida
COURSE ARCHITECT: Arthur Hills (1983)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,040
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 396 Yds0 - Par 5 526 Yds
2 - Par 4 442 Yds1 - Par 3 214 Yds
3 - Par 3 189 Yds2 - Par 4 391 Yds
4 - Par 4 367 Yds3 - Par 4 452 Yds
5 - Par 5 521 Yds4 - Par 4 376 Yds
6 - Par 4 369 Yds5 - Par 5 540 Yds
7 - Par 3 193 Yds6 - Par 4 406 Yds
8 - Par 5 548 Yds7 - Par 3 180 Yds
9 - Par 4 460 Yds8 - Par 4 470 Yds
36 3,485 Yds36 3,555 Yds
Annual:  28th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Jeff Freeman
Runner-Up:  Gary Hallberg, Jim Rutledge
Tournament Record (72 Holes):  264 (Jeff Freeman, 2011)
Tournament Record (108 Holes):  407 (Mark Johnson, 2004)
90-Hole Record:  341 (Don Reese, Hajime Meshiai, 2004)
54-Hole Record:  196 (Steve Haskins, 2009)
18-Hole Record:  62 (DeWitt Weaver, 1990 - Westin Mission Hills;
  Bill Holstead, 2000 - Bonnet Creek Golf Club;
  Jim Rutledge, 2011 - TPC Scottsdale Champions)
Total Purse:  $200,000
Shares:  1st Place - $30,000; 2nd Place - $21,000; 3rd Place - $15,000
2011 Finish
Jeff Freeman264Jim Carter271
Gary Hallberg268Bobby Clampett271
Jim Rutledge268Sonny Skinner271
Jeff Hart269Robin Freeman272
P.H. Horgan III270Mark Mouland272
Past National Qualifying Tournament Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Jeff Freeman (264) -- Gary Hallberg, Jim Rutledge
2010Keith Clearwater (272) -- Lee Rinker, Phil Blackmar, Frankie Minoza
2009Peter Senior (267) -- Ronnie Black, Steve Haskins, Joe Ozaki
2008Robert Thompson (281) -- John Morse
2007Rick Rhoden/Gene Jones (279) -- Mitch Adcock, Rick Karbowski
2006Boonchu Ruangkit (277) -- Ray Stewart
2005Massy Kuramoto (429) -- Kirk Hanefeld
2004Mark Johnson (407) -- Tom McKnight
2003Mark McNulty (275) -- Mark James
2002Des Smyth (275) -- Seiji Ebihara
2001Howard Twitty (276) -- Larry Ziegler
2000Bob Gilder (269) -- Bill Holstead, Terry Mauney
1999Mark Hayes (277) -- Howard Twitty, Stewart Ginn
1998Allen Doyle (275) -- Bruce Fleisher
1997David Lundstrom (276) -- Jose Maria Canizares
1996Bob Dickson (278) -- Will Sowles
1995Masaru Amano (279) -- John Jacobs, Bobby Stroble
1994Tommy Aycock (278) -- Walter Morgan
1993Bill Hall (284)
1992Larry Gilbert (276) -- Harry Toscano, Doug Dalziel, Bob Wynn
1991Dick Goetz/Tommy Aycock (292) -- J.C. Goosie, John Paul Cain
1990Simon Hobday (271) -- Jack Kiefer
1989Rocky Thompson (281)
1988Al Chandler (280)
1987Doug Dalziel (285)
1986Jim King (284)
1985Buck Adams (427)

Top Players in the Field
Ronnie Black2 PGA Tour victories
Tom ByrumWon 1989 Kemper Open on PGA Tour
Bobby ClampettWon 1982 Southern Open on PGA Tour
Trevor DoddsWon 1998 Greater Greensboro Chrysler Classic on PGA Tour
Joel EdwardsWon 2001 Air Canada Championship on PGA Tour
Anders Forsbrand6 European Tour victories
Peter FowlerWon 1993 BMW International Open on European Tour
Jeff FreemanWon 2011 Champions Tour Q-School
Mark JohnsonWon 2005 Toshiba Senior Classic and 2004 Q-School
Steve JonesWon 1996 U.S. Open, 8 PGA Tour victories
Neal LancasterWon 1994 Byron Nelson Golf Classic on PGA Tour
Barry Lane5 European Tour victories
James MasonWon 2002 NFL Golf Classic
Blaine McCallister5 PGA Tour victories
Eduardo Romero5 Champions Tour wins, Won 2008 U.S. Senior Open
Jim Rutledge6 Canadian Tour victories, 1 Nationwide Tour win
Rod SpittleWon 2010 AT&T Championship on Champions Tour
Robert ThompsonWon 2008 Champions Tour Q-School
Bruce VaughanWon 2008 Senior British Open

Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Joel Edwards
Darkhorse - Mark Mouland
Last Week's Pick to Win (John Cook) - Finished 1st
Last Week's Darkhorse (Corey Pavin) - Finished tied for 10th
The Champions Tour National Qualifying Tournament returns to Florida for the 20th time, as TPC Eagle Trace plays host to 78 players seeking entrance to the over-50 circuit. This is the sixth time that TPC Eagle Trace has hosted this event. Keith Clearwater won the last time it was held here in 2010. Other states besides Florida to host this event are California (5) and Arizona (3).

The top-five finishers of this tournament will receive full exemptions in 2013 on the Champions Tour. The next seven finishers, Nos. 6-12, get conditional status next year. The top-30 finishers and ties are eligible to compete for spots in open qualifiers at all cosponsored events. The top-30 and ties will also receive a portion of the $200,000 prize money.

Last year, Jeff Freeman shot four rounds of 5-under 66 to win by four strokes over Gary Hallberg and Jim Rutledge. Freeman finished 72 holes at 20-under 264, a tournament record, to earn full exempt status on the 2012 Champions Tour circuit. Freeman will be on hand to defend his title this week, as he finished 61st on the money list this year.

In 2008, Robert Thompson carded a pair of late birdies in the final round to shoot 2-under 70 and take medalist honors. Thompson finished at 7-under-par 281. Thompson also was co-medalist at the 1981 PGA Tour Q-School. Thompson joined Allen Doyle and Massy Kuramoto as the only players to earn medalist honors at the PGA Tour and Champions Tour Q-Schools.

Former major league pitcher Rick Rhoden shared medalist honors in 2007 with Gene Jones. Rhoden, who held at least a share of the lead after all four days, closed with a three-under 69 in the final round. Rhoden shot par or better in all four rounds. He pitched 16 seasons in the major leagues with four different teams.

In 2006, Thailand's Boonchu Ruangkit fired rounds of 65-72-66-74 to come away with medalist honors. Ruangkit went wire-to-wire to finish at 11-under-par 277 for a 2-shot win over Ray Stewart. Ruangkit was a 5-time winner on the Asian Tour.

11/12 14:53:23 ET

As of November 12, 2012, at 02:53 PM ET