Champions Golf Tour
CHAMPIONS - Principal Charity Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, June 1st through Sunday, June 3rd
SITE: Glen Oaks Country Club, West Des Moines, Iowa
COURSE ARCHITECT: Tom Fazio (1994)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,879
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 373 Yds10 - Par 4 418 Yds
2 - Par 3 203 Yds11 - Par 5 559 Yds
3 - Par 4 408 Yds12 - Par 4 421 Yds
4 - Par 4 377 Yds13 - Par 4 407 Yds
5 - Par 3 195 Yds14 - Par 3 201 Yds
6 - Par 4 419 Yds15 - Par 5 549 Yds
7 - Par 4 412 Yds16 - Par 3 170 Yds
8 - Par 4 369 Yds17 - Par 4 467 Yds
9 - Par 5 510 Yds18 - Par 4 421 Yds
35 3,266 Yds36 3,613 Yds
Annual:  12th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Sunday -- 7-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Bob Gilder
Runner-Up:  Mark Brooks
Tournament Record:  197 (Gil Morgan, 2006)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Gil Morgan, 2006)
Course Record:  63 (John Bland, 2002; Massy Kuramoto, 2007;
  Tommy Armour III, 2010; Keith Fergus, 2011)
Total Purse:  $1,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $262,500; 2nd Place - $154,000; 3rd Place - $126,000
2011 Finish
Bob Gilder199Brad Bryant203
Mark Brooks200Tom Lehman203
Mike Goodes201Lee Rinker203
Rod Spittle201Four players at204
Mark Calcavecchia202
Past Principal Charity Classic Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Bob Gilder (199) -- Mark Brooks
2010Nick Price (199) -- Tommy Armour III
2009*Mark McNulty (203) -- Fred Funk, Nick Price
2008Jay Haas (203) -- Andy Bean
2007Jay Haas (201) -- Brad Bryant, R.W. Eaks
2006Gil Morgan (197) -- Loren Roberts
2005*Tom Jenkins (204) -- D.A. Weibring
2004D.A. Weibring (204) -- Tom Jenkins
2003Don Pooley (200) -- Bruce Fleisher, Bruce Lietzke, Jim Thorpe
2002Bob Gilder (200) -- John Bland
2001Jim Thorpe (199) -- Gil Morgan

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Allianz Championship (2001-06).

Top Contenders in the Field
Bob Gilder---T-31T-22T-17T-52Won
Mark Brooks---------------2nd
Mike Goodes------T-22T-47T-24T-3
Brad Bryant---T-2T-30T-24T-16T-6
Tom Lehman---------------T-6
Peter Senior------------T-11T-9
David Frost------------T-48T-16
John Cook------T-5T-6T-3T-25
Loren Roberts2nd---T-5T-6T-3T-25
Jeff Sluman------T-50T-12T-5T-28
Gil MorganWonT-47T-36T-38T-48T-28
Tommy Armour III------------2ndT-35
Mike Reid---------T-12T-11T-35
Tom Kite---T-25T-30T-6T-16T-35
David EgerT-52T-40T-125thT-43T-41
Jay Haas---WonWonT-17T-30T-52
Mark McNulty---T-16T-36Won---T-52
Dan Forsman---------T-24T-5T-68
Fred Funk---------T-2T-16T-72
Bernhard Langer------------T-11---
Kenny Perry------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Peter Senior
Darkhorse - Brad Bryant
Last Week's Pick to Win (Bernhard Langer) - Finished tied for 4th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Mike Goodes) - Missed the cut
The Champions Tour travels to Iowa this week for the Principal Charity Classic. Eight of the top-10 players on the money list are expected to play. Money leader Michael Allen is not in the field. He currently leads Langer by more than $311,000 for the top spot. Langer will look to make up some ground this week. The purse increased by $25,000 from last year to $1.75 million, with the winner receiving $262,500.

Langer has yet to win in 2012, but has six top-five finishes, including two runner-up finishes. He has finished in the top-20 in all nine events he has played on the Champions Tour this year.

Last year, Bob Gilder fired a bogey-free, six-under 65 in the final round to come from behind and win by one stroke over second-round leader Mark Brooks. Gilder finished his 10th Champions Tour title at 14-under-par 199 at Glen Oaks Country Club. He became the oldest winner in tournament history at 60 years, 6 months and 5 days old. It was Gilder's first win since the 2006 Constellation Energy Classic.

In 2010, Nick Price won for the second time that season after rounds of 67-65-67. Price finished at 14-under 199 to beat Tommy Armour III by four shots. It marked the first time Price captured multiple wins in a season since 1994, when he won six times and was named PGA Tour Player of the Year.

In 2008, Jay Haas rallied with a six-under 65 in the final round to repeat as champion. Haas, who won the Senior PGA Championship the week before, finished at 10-under-par 203, which was good for a one-shot win over Andy Bean. It was the third time Haas won back-to-back starts.

Haas opened with a first-round 65 in 2007 and cruised to a wire-to-wire victory as he won by three strokes over Brad Bryant and R.W. Eaks. Haas closed with a two-under 69 in the final round to finish at 12-under-par 201. The win was his third of four in 2007. Haas joined D.A. Weibring (2004) as the only wire-to-wire winners in tournament history.

When Gil Morgan won in 2006, he established a new tournament record of 197, breaking the old mark of 199 set by Jim Thorpe in 2001. He also set a new 36-hole record of 130, breaking the mark of 131 established by John Bland in 2002.

The Champions Tour moves to Alabama next week for the Regions Tradition at Shoal Creek, where Tom Lehman captured the 2011 title.

05/29 16:11:07 ET

As of May 29, 2012, at 04:11 PM ET